Keeping Down the Thanksgiving Fluff

Did you know that the average Thanksgiving day can consist of 3500 calories?  Most of that in one meal.  So how do you keep on track?  How do you incorporate your path of wellness into the never ending buffet that is Thanksgiving?  Here are some opportunities:

1.  Portion control!  You know that you will indulge.  So keep those portions small.  It is also helpful if the food is in a different location than the table.  If you have to get up to get more, you are less likely to do so.

2.  Practice your mindful eating.  Focus on the people (or animals – Bosley will be squarely under the table with me) that you are with.  Also, focus on savoring the wonderful food that is provided.  Take your time instead of wolfing it down.  Most of these foods you only get one time a year, so enjoy them.  That way, after your meal you can continue to enjoy company and not have that heavy bloated feeling.

3.  Don’t forget your workout.  I too will be seeing family that I haven’t seen in a while, but I will still get my workout in.  They understand that I have adpoted a healthy lifestyle and they respect that.  That doesn’t mean that you should plan your 3 hour workout for Thursday.  But you can get something in…a Tabata, interval, quick run.  Also, include your family.  Go for a walk or run together.  Get a quick core session in while the turkey is baking.  Everything can be modified to include people at any place in their wellness journey.

4.  Don’t nibble.  Tasting and nibbling can add many calories on top of the calories you will consume at the actual meal. If you feel yourself getting snack-y, place a bowl of baby carrots or celery on the counter.  Slip these into your mouth instead of taste testing everything else and that will satisfy you until your meal actually begins.

5.  Other than focusing on the big day, remember that your wellness journey won’t be made or broken in one day.  You can’t forget the rest of this week either.  Don’t slack!  Especially this week.  Keep on your routine and don’t neglect your clean eating habits.  Don’t lose your focus.

Here are some quicky workout options.  Do them all or break them up and perform what you can. 

Lower body (2-3 sets):

25 reps squat

1 minute squat jumps (or if you can’t jump, just speed up your squats to get your heart rate up)

25 reps forward lunges on each leg

1 minute jump lunges (same rules apply as above)

25 reps plie squats

1 minute plie squat jumps

Upper body (2-3 sets):

25 push ups

1 minute jump rope

15 pull ups

1 minute jump rope

15 tricep dips

1 minute jump rope

If you want pure cardio, get in an interval run…1 min sprint, 30 sec. jog for 20 or 25 minutes.  You can also do this on an eliptical or stationary bike.  Also, if you are new to running, run for 1 minute and walk for 30 seconds.  Just get it done however you can :).

However you celebrate your Thanksgiving, don’t forget how far you have come, where you want to go, or your goals! 

 

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

