Oh Right…I have a blog

Meaning…I have to write in it.  This is precisely the reason that I don’t participate in fun virtual events like Vegan MoFo.  I would love to, but the whole problem with me participating is that I would have to post, like, consistently.  And I just can’t commit.  Anyway, let’s catch up…

About two weeks ago now, I hurt my lower back.  I have racked my brain on what I could have done to injure it, but nothing seemed to really click.  After about a week of having a dull ache in my lower back that wouldn’t go away, I headed to the doc.  An incredibly nice Italian doctor basically told me that it wasn’t a kidney infection and that I needed to dial it back some, take some muscle relaxers and high dose NSAIDs and it would be fine in a few weeks.  And that is partially why there were no posts.  I was mad….and frustrated….sad….and depressed.  He told me that I couldn’t workout, with the exception of walking (*phooey*) and that I would know when I could work out again.  The irrational part of my brain said, “Sweet, I’ll give it a day and then be back on my interval workouts and running!”  The more logical part of my brain said, “maybe this whole rest thing is what you really need.”  Shocking, I know.  This was Tuesday a week ago.  I was supposed to run a 7 mile race on Sunday.  Including a medal….that’s right.  The doctor told me that if I felt like it, I could run it.  After much debate and two days of rest and seeing noticable difference, I decided to not run.  On Friday, I hit up the elliptical and felt the nagging ache in my back, but it was much different.  Finally, I completed a full workout on Sunday, consisting of the elliptical and a tough lower body routine (which I will post later ;)).  I’m happy to say that I am pretty sure that I am 100% now.  I’m trying to be more cautious about my form when lifting and working on strengthening my hamstrings, gluteus medius and minimus, and abdominal group (these are all your “assistor” muscles for your erector spinae AKA your tiny little lower back muscle).

So I’ve been working out regularly (not running or doing plyo yet) for a few days and I’m off the meds! 

If you are planning on watching the debates tonight, instead of a drinking game, why don’t you participate in an AB game!  Here we go:

 

Pick a candidate (doesn’t matter if you are voting for them or not) and for each of the words/phrases that they say below do the ab exercise associated with it…

 

If you are drinking to Barack Obama:

Let Me Be Clear – 15 crunches                 

Inherited – 30 sec forearm plank                 

Middle Class – 10 side planks (5 on each side)

Loopholes – 10 roll upsCongress – 25 bicycles                 

Tax Cuts – 25 Russian twists (with weight if you can)

Medicare – 5 plank ups

Sanctions – 15 reverse crunches                 

Nuclear – 100s               

Clinton – 10 situps

If you are drinking to Mitt Romney:

Unemployment – 15 crunches                 

ObamaCare – 30 sec forearm plank

Small Business – 10 side planks (5 per side)                 

Freedom – 10 roll ups                 

Israel – 25 bicycles                 

Spending – 25 Russian twists

Candy (as in Crowley) – 5 plank ups                 

China – 15 reverse crunches                 

Benghazi – 100s               

Reagan – 10 situps

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

