Interval mania

I have no food pictures for you.  I am ashamed.  But!  I am hoping to have some awesome one’s from the Food and Wine Festival on Sunday.  Yes, food and wine.  I will have a glowing review of the *brand new* vegan kiosk and all of its delicious (hopefully!) vegan glory.  There will also be wine…lots of wine.  They better have that awesome Pinotage from previous years. 

As a side note, I feel that there are changes in the air.  Some really heavy and not so heavy things have been happening to a lot of people that are close to me.  Not sure what that means for me.  I can embrace change though, so we’ll see what happens.  Nutrition class is awesome!  Organic chemistry not so awesome.  Why is chemistry such a cruel subject? 

Anyway, on to the workout, since that is what most of you are here for anyway…

I did two interval workouts and one ab workout…

First I did the up here:  12 Minute Real Time 

– There are three other warmups/workouts on that page that are great for intermediates and beginners.  I definitely recommend that as a go to for warmups or just quick workouts.

Then I mixed it up with abdominals.  Set an interval timer to 30 seconds work/10 seconds rest 21 rounds (!)

1.  Regular crunches

2.  Bicycles

3.  Straight leg lifts

4.  Hip lifts

5.  Roll up with weight (I used my 25 lbs sandbag…make sure that you can handle the weight, because this one can really do a number on your back if your form is wrong)

6.  Crunch pulses with dumbbell (hold the dumbbell directly over your body and contract your abs, crunching with little pulses)

7.  Plank (forearm or straight arm, doesn’t matter)

Finally, I ended up with this doosy:

Cardi-hoe burnout

I rolled with 10lb dumbbells for both the chest press and shoulder press.  Remember the reps are until exhaustion so you don’t want a super high weight.  Honestly, I should have probably dropped the weight down for the shoulder press, but oh well.

So enjoy these workouts in whatever order you like 🙂

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

