Celebrate and Elevate

This is my year to celebrate and elevate!  I whole heartedly believe that there is something that we can celebrate each day.  Even being able to wake up, having a job, food in the kitchen, people that care about me…there is so much to celebrate!  But in addition to this, there is a definite need to elevate…everyday there is an opportunity to elevate someone else.  As a personal trainer, it is so important to be able to influence someone into believing that they can do more than they think they can.  I think this is a quality we should all instill in each other.  I love how great it is to celebrate with others as they are elevated by either something they accomplished or something that they have overcome.

I have a close friend who continues to inspire me.  She was in a terrible car accident years ago and was told that she would never walk again.  She made it her mission to walk again, and yesterday completed one of the many half marathons that she signs up for each year.  She is a phenomenon!

There is also Healthy Ashley who had a terrible bike accident late last year that left her with a shattered pelvis and ultimately the addition of screw in her pelvis.  She today completed her first marathon post-pelvis shatter – four months ago!

I feel so blessed to wake up every day and feel healthy and strong, and even sore sometimes.  It reminds me of why I make the choices that I make!

So as you go through each day, take the time to notice when someone is making a step in the right direction or towards their goals and give them a compliment!  It means the world to them and really can keep them going on the right path.

So today I elevated all of my friends that participated in the Disney Marathon weekend.  Whether you finished last or had a personal record, you got out there and did it!  Congrats to all the runners/walkers!

For my celebration this month, I’m continuing to celebrate my veganism.  When I first went vegan, many people who were swimming in negativism told me that this was just a phase and it would never last.  Here we are 6 years later and I’m loving my life!  Initially, I became vegan for the health benefits.  And boy did I get some benefits!  I have more energy, sleep better, have less digestive issues, have better skin, and my internal numbers have never been better.  I go ever January for my physical and actually look forward to what the numbers reflect.  I’ve expanded my vegan horizons greatly and now have more vegan culinary skills than ever before.

I am proud to be in the ranks of other vegans that have taken the step forward to a plant based diet.  I can attest to the differences it has made in my life, but please remember that you have to make the decision for yourself what style of eating is for you.  If you want more information on veganism, please feel free to leave a comment or message me!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

