Inside a new year!

Welcome to 2012!  I’m finally free of my virus!  I spent most of yesterday either working out or cooking food.  That typically means I’m better :).  I knew that I wanted to get outside for my workout, so I went to the West Orange Trail.  Its part of the “recycle” program across the US in which they are transforming old train tracks into walking/running/biking trails.  I *love* this concept and know of at least two within an hour from me.  The West Orange Trail is the most convenient and it is great for short runs, long runs, or a nice bike ride.  Since I was getting back into the swing of things, I decided that I would run at a comfortable pace for 1.5 miles and reevaluate at that point, since the furthest I would go would be 3 miles and this would be my turn around point.  I was glad that I was able to make it to 1.5 miles without a lot of trouble.  I walked for 1/4 mile before picking it back up again.  I ended up covering about 3.2 miles.  It was so nice to be outside and experiencing new surroundings.  I also *love* the wildlife of FL.  I conveniently went to the farmer’s market after my run and was able to get a few things.  The first strawberries are starting to show up!!!  I also got some delicious honey tangerines.  Citrus is definitely a perk of living in FL.

So for my food making extravaganza, I made a fantastic soup, Mama Pea’s Green and Red Lentil Enchiladas from her cookbook, and Angela’s Chilled Double Chocolate Torte.

Seriously, if you need a vegan dessert that is also raw and sophisticated, you need to make the chocolate torte.  Plus it is so unbelieveably easy.  And if you aren’t convinced yet, you can keep it in the freezer and nibble on it when you need a little chocolate fix.

The enchiladas were amazing!  I couldn’t get red lentils, so mine was a green on green version with whole wheat tortillas.  Super easy and also really delicious.  If I haven’t already convinced you already, get this cookbook.

Fantastic Soup recipe:

1 sweet onion, chopped

2 zucchini, cut in half lengthwise and then sliced into crescents

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

5 to 6 c. veggie broth (determine how thick or thin you want the soup)

1 can diced tomatoes, drained

1 can either black beans or black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained

1 c. cooked brown rice

Saute onions in olive oil for about 2 minutes until tender.  Add carrots, zucchini, and garlic and continue to saute until all veggies are tender, about 8 more minutes.  Add remaining ingredients except rice and simmer for 10-15 minutes.  Add rice and continue cooking for an additional 5-10 minutes.

*Notes* This soup is really comforting.  It also packs a nutritional punch!  Add some fresh spinach the last 5 minutes as well, if you want some additional greens.  This soup would make a great accompaniment to a spinich salad too.  You can also make this soup and freeze it.  If you are going to freeze the soup, don’t add the rice.  Wait until you reheat the soup and add as much rice as you like.  Enjoy!

I ended the night with a little Ugi ball workout and BodyRock abs.  Thus employing both of the gifts that I received.  My dip station is awesome.  I just have to figure out how to put together a space to workout in.

Tonight I was able to get in a nice workout after work.  As I’m continuing to ease into distance running after being ill, I did a split workout.  This is sort of like a drawn out interval workout.  Basically, I will run for 10 minutes and then do a leg workout.  I repeated this 4 times for a nice workout that was about 50 minutes.  I’m still full from lunch, but I see an enchilada in my future for dinner :).

Has everyone made their resolutions?  What are they?

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inside a new year!

  1. Happy New Year! I resolved to start a knitting group. First meeting is January 28, and I can hardly wait! Glad you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

