100 foods

In efforts to add more posts about food, and also because I’m getting ready for bed, because I’m 80 years old…I’m posting a list of 100 foods to eat before you die.  This list circulated around the blogs a while back, so I’m a little late to the game.  I’d love to hear your thoughts on these.  The ones that I have tried are listed with their descriptions…no description = never tried.  Also remember that I haven’t been veggie/vegan for my entire life.  On a related side note, January marks my 6 year mark of being vegan!  I am going to try and do special posts for that month related to my vegan lifestyle, so it should be fun.

Hope that you all have a happy, healthy, and safe new year!

1. Venison – Yes, I have eaten deer.  Being from SC, there were several families that hunted deer for the meat and would literally have freezers full of processed deer meat.  The only way I have really had it is in a deer meat stew.  It wasn’t terrible, but even if I went back to eating meat this would not be a top choice.
2. Nettle tea – I have actually tried this too.  Not really that big of a fan.
3. Huevos rancheros
4. Steak tartare
5. Crocodile – I’ve had alligator and I’m guessing that the flavors would not be that much different.  Chewy and really not exciting.
6. Black pudding  
7. Cheese fondue – Back in the day I loved cheese fondue.  It is so retro and my mom used to break out her fondue set when we were kids.  I love the options of dippers and the opportunity to cook the meat.  I’ve also been to melting pot a few times.
8. Carp
9. Borscht
10. Baba ghanoush – Yes!  The eggplant alternative to hummus.  I love this stuff and if the eggplant is roasted the flavors are so much stronger.
11. Calamari
12. Pho – I love Vietnamese food and this is a staple.  Anytime someone brings me a gigantic bowl of soup with various fresh herbs to toss in, I’m game.  If you are ever in Tampa, you must go to Trang’s Viet Cuisine.  It is not in the best part of town, but that place is the best Vietnamese I have ever had.  They also have a gigantic menu of vegan and veggie options and have been voted best vegetarian restaurant in Tampa for several years.
13.  PB&J Sandwich – I love these.  My favorite way to eat these is to take the PB and the strawberry jam and mix them together prior to spreading them on the sandwich.  This is the way that my grandmother made them and I find that the even distribution of the PB and J is quite nice.
14. Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16. Epoisses de Bourgogne
17. Black truffle – Yes.  Personally, I think they are a little over rated, but added to a dish correctly, it can really bring out some delicious flavors.
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes – Yes, I have actually had strawberry wine, plum wine, as well as a peach wine.  And muscadines are in the grape family, but I have had muscadine wine as well.
19. Steamed pork buns – I have had a vegan version and it was ok.  I’m not a fan of the texture and would much prefer a steamed spring roll.
20. Pistachio ice cream – I love pistachios and the ice cream is really delicious, but the electric green color often scares me.
21. Heirloom tomatoes – YUM!  Yes, I have grown some before.  I am always a fan of different types of tomatoes.
22. Fresh wild berries- Yes.  I’ve been strawberry picking and I’ve picked blackberries before.  When I was a child, I used to sample as I went along J
23. Foie gras
24. Rice and beans- There was another restaurant in Tampa (its no longer there) that had awesome Cuban vegetarian rice and beans.  For some reason, adding chopped red onions to the top really puts the dish over the top.  Columbia’s Restaurant also has some great rice and beans.
25. Brawn, or head cheese
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper
27. Dulce de leche – Yes, but I am not a fan.
28. Oysters-
29. Baklava- Yummy, this is one sweet dessert.  If you have ever made this before, you really appreciate the work that goes into creating this dish with the large amount of phylo sheets that goes into this.
30. Bagna cauda
31. Wasabi peas
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl
33. Salted lassi
34. Sauerkraut – I think it would be criminal to live in Germany and not try sauerkraut.  Some markets sell it straight out of the barrel that they pickle it in.  That is the good stuff.
35. Root beer float – Yes and I hate it.
36. Cognac with a fat cigar
37. Clotted cream tea
38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O shot – Of course!
39. Gumbo
40. Oxtail
41. Curried goat
42. Whole insects
43. Phaal
44. Goat’s milk
45. Single malt whisky – Yes…I could take it or leave it.  Not a big whisky fan.
46. Fugu
47. Chicken tikka masala
48. Eel
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut – Uh, again being from SC, we did not have Dunkin Doughnuts, so this is it.  Whenever the “hot now” sign lights up, I feel like it is the equivalent of the bat signal to some people.  They have been ruined for me though, because a) I’ve seen them being made and want to hurl as they float down the hot oil river b) I know the nutritional stats and let’s just say it isn’t pretty.  This should not be your first food choice after a heart attack.
50. Sea urchin
51. Prickly pear
52. Umeboshi
53. Abalone
54. Paneer
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal
56. Spaetzle – Hooray for spaetzle!  Again a typical German side-dish that is really yummy.
57. Dirty gin martini – Why, yes, yes I have J
58. Beer above 8% ABV
59. Poutine
60. Carob chips – A nice vegan alternative to chocolate chips.
61. S’mores – Some vegans miss cheese, I miss S’mores.  I final got some vegan marshmallows and have been waiting for just the right time to make some vegan s’mores.  The combination of the melty chocolate, gooey marshmallow, and crunchy graham cracker is just an awesome flavor combination.
62. Sweetbreads
63. Kaolin
64. Currywurst
65. Durian
66. Frogs’ legs
67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake – I’ve had all of these before.  You can’t really go wrong with fried dough tossed with powdered sugar or cinnamon sugar.  However, these have also been ruined for me due to nutritional stats.  Yikes!
68. Haggis
69. Fried plantain- You can’t have Cuban food without a good fried plantain.
70. Chitterlings, or andouillette
71. Gazpacho– This is a favorite of mine during the hot summer months.  The cool cucumber and tomato combo is really nice.
72. Caviar and blini
73. Louche absinthe
74. Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill
76. Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie
78. Snail
79. Lapsang souchong
80. Bellini- It was ok.  Not always a fan.
81. Tom yum
82. Eggs Benedict
83. Pocky – Yep…not sure what my thoughts are on it though.
84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant
85. Kobe beef
86. Hare
87. Goulash – Yes, I’ve had it in many forms.  I make a really awesome version that is vegan J.
88. Flowers – I have had eatable flowers before.  I really liked them actually.
89. Horse
90. Criollo
91. Spam
92. Soft shell crab
93. Rose harissa
94. Catfish
95. Mole poblano
96. Bagel and lox
97. Lobster Thermidor
98. Polenta – I love polenta.  Its like a Spanish version of grits.  I have an awesome recipe that uses polenta cakes with a delicious black bean sauce.  Out of this world!
99. Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee
100. Snake

So now I want to know, what you have you tried? What do you want to try? What will you never try!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

