Fire!

Woooo…my legs are on fire!  Today was one of those jam packed days where everything is systematically planned out and if anything goes awry the entire day could go downhill.  Part of the issue is that Bosley, my dog, has to eat prescription food.  Before you make a comment about posh dog owners, lets just say that he has issues with bladder stones and in order to prevent numerous bladder surgeries he has to eat this food.  Believe me, I’m not happy about it either.  Anyway, I have to make sure that he has plenty of this food, because he can’t eat anything else.  Therefore, with the holidays coming up, I wanted to make sure that the vet had his food.  Luckily they will be open on Friday and I can run by and pick up the bag of food that I reserved.  So I was able to cross that off my list and avoid an out of the way drive.  I also needed to get a few more ingredients for my holiday treat gifts.

I’m all about holiday treat gifts. It provides me with the opportunity to share food with people, and that is something that I really enjoy.  However, it would be really bad for me to give out tons of treats that are terribly unhealthy.  Enter Mama Pea’s No Bake Snowball Cookies and some maple roasted pecans and walnuts.  For the nuts, I mixed about four cups of walnuts and three cups of pecans with 6 tbsp maple syrup, 4 tsp cinnamon, and 4 tbsp sugar.  I roasted the nuts at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, stirring every ten minutes.  Once they are out of the oven, let them rest for about 10 minutes before breaking them up and enjoying.

So not only are my two treat options healthier (ok, let’s not replace our spinach with roasted nuts and snowball cookies 😉 but they are also wonderfully vegan.  I am also portioning the treats appropriately, so people aren’t receiving huge portions of foods.  Its called praticing what you preach people :).

The evening was spent putting those packages together and realizing that instead of 40 treat bags, I purchased 16. #planning fail

Ah well.  Prior to all the errand running I went running haha.  I really wasn’t interested in tracking my distance, so I decided to do an interval run and work on my speed a little bit.  Speed is something that I ignore…a lot.  Ever since I tore my hip flexor, I realized that I may have been pushing myself past my breaking point to reach time goals.  Not good.  So, I have relaxed on the whole time portion.  That is mostly why you will not see me posting any times for my runs.  Perhaps at some point I’ll start training for time again, but for now, I’m good with working on my distance.  Anyway, I started out running a relaxed pace for 5 minutes to warm up, then I ran .2 mph faster every minute.  Once I reached sprinting pace, I slowed back down to a comfortable pace and started over again.  Nice 30 minutes worth of speed work on the treadmill.

After my errands, I checked out the latest BodyRock workouts (which are awesome!) and then incorporated some of the leg work into my lower body strengthening.  I set my timer for 50/10 second intervals and completed the following exercises:

– hip bridge with in and out squeeze (watch this video and she gives an example of this workout and the next two…you have to wait until the end because she does three ab exercises first)

– hip bridge with knees together squeeze

– hip bridge with squeeze up

– body weight squats

– one leg deadlift on each side

– curtsey squats

– sumo squats

Yeah…I’m going to be in pain tomorrow.  Also, if you don’t have your own interval timer, I use this one in a pinch

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

