Running on Empty

So my plans for running today were squashed by the soreness that still exists in my legs.  This, folks, is a prime example of listening to your body.  Not only were my legs still super sore, but my knee was twinging a little bit and in the essence of staying injury free I listened – I took a rest day.  From cardio…

Tuesdays are usually my swing day, meaning that there is the potential for rest or adding it as a 6th day of exercise.  Today the rest won out.  Listen to your body kids!

We are having a potluck at work tomorrow and being the overachiever that I am, I signed up for two dishes.  I’m being sarcastic about the overachiever part, but I did this more so because I rarely get to cook for large groups, so I always double my efforts when the opportunity presents itself.  Tomorrow morning, I will finish off an old recipe for cranberry casserole and tonight I fixed a twist on what is known as “German potato salad” by adding sauteed asparagus to a dressed hot potato salad.  There was no mayonaise used in the production of this potato salad.  As a side note, I’m completely convinced that mayo is complete evil.  No nutritional value whatsoever.  Stay far, far away.  Anyway, for the dressing, I combined some dijon mustard, fresh dill, nutritional yeast (good source of B12 for vegetarians/vegans), water, maple syrup, the juice and zest of a whole lemon, and some minced garlic.  I roasted the potatoes with some additional minced garlic and a little olive oil.  Asparagus was trimmed and sauteed in a little olive oil.  When everything is finished, mix it all.  Done

The cranberry casserole is an old favorite.  Combine 4 c. fresh cranberries, 2 c. chopped apples, about 1 c. sugar (I usually cut this back to 1/2 c. and it still works, you are basically just trying to mascerate the cranberries and draw the juice out).  You then mix in a separate bowl…1 1/2 c. oats, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/3 c. flour, 1/2 c. chopped nuts (I typically go with walnuts or pecans, stay away from regular peanuts) and 1 stick melted vegan butter.  Mix all of these and pour on top of cranberry mixture.  Place in a preheated 350 degree oven for 1 hour, checking at 45 minutes.  The mix will thicken as it sits.

Other than that, eats again were really not spectacular.  I had lunch with a friend at Qdoba and while it was enjoyable, I think I am out of my Qdoba/Chipotle phase.  My normal go to is a veggie bowl with minimal rice, extra mild salsa, guacamole, and black beans.  I’m just over it now.  I resisted the lemonade, which was a health win for the day.  I had a Fuji apple for a snack and breakfast was a repeat from yesterday.

Tomorrow morning, I plan on having a green monster smoothie for breakfast to break up the monotomy.  Step class is tomorrow night and it is the highlight of my exercise week.  If you like step class, take a BodyStep class and see what you think.  As a step instructor, I have some issues with Les Mills, but I have enjoyed pretty much every BodyStep class I have taken.  Except party step, because I feel like it brings my endurance level down a few notches.  Also, completely unrelated, I am entertaining the idea of signing up for the Gasparilla Half Marathon in Tampa.  I have the running itch.

My pull up bar is staring at me from across the room, so I’m going to make some attempts and check back in tomorrow.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

