hello leg muscles!

Two days in a row…this is a new record.  I told you I have turned over a new leaf.  Anyway, onto the details….

Tonight I BodyRocked since I’m trying not to run two days in a row to keep the hip flexor injury free.  Also, my legs are on fire from yesterday’s workout.  Good to know for future reference when I need a tough lower body workout.

I did the It Will Rain Sweat WO.  I completed only 8 rounds, instead of the 10 recommended rounds, but I was done!  The point with the BodyRock workouts is not that you do everything perfectly, but more that you DO it.  Don’t be intimidated by the reps, it will go by quickly.  Also, make sure you watch the video for modifications for beginners and injured participants.  After my 8 rounds, I also completed 8 assisted pull ups on a pull up bar along with 15 seconds of just hanging.  I’m trying to get myself in shape to do an unassisted pull up.  I am improving and I get really excited everytime I move a quarter inch.  I don’t need much to motivate me clearly.  I also threw in a few planks and some ab exercises for good measure, since the workout doesn’t necessarily target that muscle group.

Eats today included a delicious bowl of pumpkin butter oatmeal this morning.  I love pumpkin.  I make my own pumpkin butter (something else you should probably know about me….I don’t really like processed food, so I cook a lot of my own stuff, from scratch).  I start by making my oatmeal and when the almond milk is heating up, I add a spoonful to the mix.  MMMMM…it is amazing.  Lunch was a fantastic soup that I made last week.  With soups, I tend to toss stuff together and it either works or doesn’t work.  This one worked :).  I sauteed an onion, carrots, chopped mushroom, and garlic.  Once they were soft I added about 7 c. of veggie broth along with oregano and basil (I used fresh, but dried will work as well).  When everything is heated through, I added a cup of cooked brown rice along with a cup of cooked lentils.  A tip about beans and rice, on the weekends, I will cook a ton of rice and beans and then freeze a majority of it.  That way you have some on hand whenever you want it.

Tomorrow I’m planning on running again and depending on how my legs feel, I may sneak in another lower body workout.  I have to keep in mind that I have Step class on Wednesday nights, so I don’t want to over work my legs.

What are you doing today to work along your path towards health?

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

