hiatus…

After an over year long hiatus, I am back.  I’m not making any promises, but I’m really motivated to write now.  I’m in a much different place than I was a year ago….much different.  In ways happier, in ways more confident, and also somewhat more driven.  I’m working on pre-requisites in the hopes that I will earn entrance to a MS program in dietetics.  Its going well and definitely keeping me busy.

Me and workouts have been on a rocky road.  In the past year I have been in and out of workout regimes.  Sometimes not caring, sometimes working out twice a day.  Such is life.  But I am now back on the straight and narrow.  A lot of that came from fear.  So when I tore my hip flexor during my half marathon training last year, I got really scared.  I was scared of distance running, scared of training, scared of injuring myself.  Inevitably, that led to me fluctuating in and out of running.  I have done several 5Ks this year and one 10K, but I really haven’t stuck to training like I should.  Ironically, I found a necklace with a leaf charm and the box said “turn over a new leaf” and I took this as a sign and a symbol of motivation.

So I have decided to not worry about something that hasn’t happened.  I’m continuing to strengthen my hip flexors by using targeted exercises and stretches.  I’m also continuing to challenge my body with different workouts.  Part of my motivation to start writing again is for accountability and to provide others with insight into my path to continued and better health.  I’ll be posting my workouts and some meals, so be prepared :).

Today’s workout was really tough.  I really wasn’t motivated to do a distance run, so I broke it up with some lower body training.  A great tip is when you are not feeling a workout, it is 90% mental.  So to combat that you have to challenge your mind.  I ran over 4 miles today and didn’t even think about it.  However, if I tried to do it all at once, Brutus (those little voices in your head that are negative and tell you to stop or you can’t do something) would have chimed in and I wouldn’t make it.

Lower Body Love Workout:

1 mile run at race pace (I’m a bit slower right now, so I fluctuated between 6.0 and 6.5 mph; you can also subsitute 10 minutes of cardio of choice…walking, eliptical, etc)

50 alternating lunges

50 crunches

1 mile run (basically repeat above except I worked with a little incline)

30 alternating lateral lunges

30 alternating backward stepping lunges

30 prisoner squats (basically a squat with your hands on the back of your head; you will be surprised at the difference that it makes!)

Repeat 2-3x.  You can also add weights to make it more challenging.

My meals were nothing spectacular today.  I did make a yummy provencal bean soup which I’m looking forward to eating this week :).

You will also note that I will be doing a lot of BodyRock workouts.  If you are looking for some excellent at home workouts, these are incredible.  And I love Zuzanna, she has a great story and is so incredibly positive.  Plus I totally appreciate the fact that she became completely shredded without supplements, on a clean diet, and without spending hours upon hours at a gym working out.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

