life gets in the way….

These past few weeks have been filled with some interesting adventures.  I have bonded with new people, reconnected with people from the past, met some interesting people, had wine with good gossip and trivia, and studied some anatomy. 

In between all of this, I have actually been cooking, but nothing that is really worth posting that already hasn’t been posted :).  So let’s talk about workouts. 

Since I am not “training” for anything I have gotten back to my other boyfriend, cycling.  See running is my first “boyfriend.”  The go-to, reliable, can be found anywhere boyfriend.  Cycling is the interesting, hard to find, exotic “boy” that you know will not last forever.  I really miss teaching it.  So, instead I have been doing my “random mix” solo classes.  Random mix is when I take my cycling class mix and just put it on random and whatever comes up is the exercise that you do.  It is awesome and won’t leave you bored.  Also a great cross-training option.

Back to running, because it is old-reliable remember ;).  I am super pleased with my pace right now.  I have backed off to three-four days a week and had a one mile pace of 6:15.  My endurance space is down to about 8:30 which I am super happy about.  I am integrating some agility drills as well to keep my hip flexor happy.  Its been doing well lately, so I’m not going to test it out. 

I also did a full yoga workout a few days ago for the first time in a while.  Crane didn’t happen which makes me angry and just means that I will obsess about doing it until its done.  Lots of sweaty vinyasas makes me a happy girl.  I still have the mastery of plow and shoulder stands.  I must get back to handstands and handstand pushups.  Maybe one of these days…

But here is an upper body workout for you to enjoy:

On the cable machine (look for the one that has arms that you can move with the cables on the end), set a weight that you can perform 3-4 sets of 8-10 reps (I was at 25lbs) = Chest press in a lunge stance.  Superset these with pull ups on the cable machine (place the weight all the way up, heels on the ground so you are performing assisted pull ups).  No rest between sets kids.

Move to dumbbells and other machines:

3 sets of 8-10 chest flys (remember here that you can put your feet up on the bench and take some of the pressure off of your lower back)

3 sets of 8-10 reverse flys (remember to pinch your shoulder blades together)

3 sets of pushups to failure (you choose what failure means, either dropping to the knees or being done after on the knees)

3 sets of 8-10 lat pull-downs (I’m rocking 75 lbs now 😉 which you can make these harder by not sitting on the bench and putting yourself in a squat position…this totally rules

Onto the smaller upper body muscles…

3 sets of 8-10 bicep curls (push yourself here and change to reverse grip if you can handle it);  superset with overhead triceps extension 3 sets of 8-10

3 sets of 10-15 clean and press your choice of single dumbells or bar (abs tight, don’t arch your back and don’t sacrifice your form; drop your weight if your form starts to fail)

3 sets of 8-10 dips (either on the bench or assisted/unassisted on the gravitron)

Shoulders, what!

3 sets of 10-12 front raises, superset with lateral raises and military press (burning them out here!); if you are using heavier weight for the front raises change your stance to a lunge position to avoid poor form; change weights if you need to towards the last set because this will smoke your shoulders

Abs and lower back…

Regular crunches to warm up = 1 set of 25

cross over crunches = 2 sets of 20 on each side

forearm plank aka popeye plank = 3 sets of 1 min. (or go for failure if you can go longer than 1 min)

crunches on Swiss ball = 3 sets of 25

plank ups = 3 sets of 15 (start in either a pushup position or forearm plank; bring yourself up one hand at a time and then back down…I’ve said this before, but a little piece of me dies each time I do this)

2 min of situps for time – you can do these on the decline bench or having something holding your feet down, just make sure your back hits the ground and you are coming all the way up)

Roman chair – everyone does this incorrectly; this is the piece of equipment that is basically only meant for lower back work; you lean all the way forward and then only come up to the point where your back is level…do not arch your back because then you are engaging too much of your hamstrings and glutes.  3 sets of 15; if you want to be a stud you can grab a weight plate for the last two sets but always warm up first and don’t grab too much weight. 

Superman = 3 sets of 15

Done…

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

