actual food!

So, I actually have a post about food!  No pictures though, because I cannot find my camera USB :(.  That means you just have to make the recipes and decide for yourself. 

First up we have:

Black Eyed Pea Basmati Salad

1/2 c. dry black eyed peas

1/2 c. basmati rice

1 tsp garlic

1/4 c. thinly sliced red onion

1/3 c. green olives, halved

2 tbsp coarse grain dijon mustard

4 tbsp apple cider vinegar

3 tbsp oil

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro

Rinse peas and place in a saucepan with 3 c. water and 1/2 tsp salt.  Bring to a boil and cook 4 minutes.  Remove from heat, cover, and let sit for one hour.  Drain and return to heat with 1 c. fresh water.  Bring to a simmer and cook, partially covered, until al dente, about 10 minutes.  Let cool in the liquid.  Cook rice with 1 1/2 c. water and garlic.  Simmer, cover and cook 16 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Whisk mustard through cilantro and adjust seasonings.  Drain peas and toss with rice.  Add remaining ingredients and stir.

*Notes*  I replaced the basmati with brown rice and adjusted the cooking time accordingly.  I’m just trying to keep myself in the whole grain category.  I also used veggie stock to cook the rice to give it a little more umph.  I let the salad hang out in the fridge and it tasted pretty amazing.  Definitely a keeper.

Marinara Sauce by Barefoot Contessa

1 tbsp oil

1 onion chopped

1 1/2 tsp minced garlic

1/2 c. red wine, preferrably Chianti or at least something Italian

28 oz can crushed tomatoes

1 tbsp fresh parsley

1 1/2 tsp salt

Heat oil and saut onion 5-10 minutes.  Add garlic and cook one minute.  Add wine and cook until almost all liquid has evaporated, about three minutes.  Stir in remaining ingredients, cover and simmer 15 minutes.

*Notes* I believe that I have made it to the mountain top of marinara sauce outside of Italy.  I didn’t have any chianti (shocking, I know!) so I used Centine (pronounced Chen-tineay) by Banfi.  Always remember that you never cook with something that you wouldn’t drink.  Which is why I had a glass while I was cooking ;).  The flavor was really strong and I’m not sure if this is due to the Centine or the recipe.  Also, there are differing opinions on Ina Garten, but I tend to enjoy her stuff.  It is upscale, but every recipe I have made by her has been fantastic.

Vegan Snickerdoodles

1 3/4 c. flour

1/4 c. cornstarch

1 tsp baking powder

4 oz non-vegan, non-hydrolyzed margarine

3/4 c. sugar

1/4 c. non-dairy milk

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 c. sugar

3 tbsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Whisk flour, cornstarch, and baking powder.  Beat margarine and sugar.  Beat in non-dairy milk and vanilla.  Add flour mix and beat until smooth.  Combine cinnamon and sugar on a plate.  Shape dough into balls and roll each in cinnamon sugar.  Place on baking sheet and bake 10-12 minutes.  Transfer to wire rack to cool.

*Notes* So, I did not have any baking spray, so I painted olive oil onto the dish to keep them from sticking.  Also, I was more in the mood for bars so I poured the batter into an 8×8 pan.  They baked for about 20 minutes, but still came out quite gooey.  I loved it though :).  I would definitely recommend going the cookie route with this one if you want to have more firm cookies/bars.  Also the 1/2 c. sugar is way too much!  I had a ton left over.  I would cut it back to 1/4 cup and 1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to actual food!

  1. Julee says:

    Do you use sugar in the raw or white sugar? What are your thoughts on the two?

Leave a Reply

