Core Ahoy

So the foodie portion of the blog is taking a siesta due to several factors.  However, the exercise aspect is in full effect…

Today’s workout = Core, floor and more

* Cardio 50 minutes

* 3 sets 20 crunches to warm up

* 3 sets 12 superman

* 3 sets of 25 cross over crunches

* 3 sets of 20 hip lifts

* 3 sets of 20 corkscrew (this is a Pilates exercise)

* 3 min. of full plank (break it up however you need to)

* while you are there, 3 sets of 10-15 plank ups (in extended plank position, bring one arm at a time down to forearm plank and then back up…a little piece of me dies each time I do this)

* 3 sets 20 v-crunches

* give your abs a break and move to 3 sets of 10-12 swimmers (lying in a prone position, lift only upper body keeping spine aligned and arms extended, and move your arms like you are doing the breast stroke; each stroke is one rep)

* 50 reps bicycle crunch, half time (one rep is a crossover on both sides)

* 3 min. Roman twist, with or without weight (you can also challenge yourself more by taking your feet off the ground)

* 3 min Boat pose

*stretch with some cobra, updog, bow, and whatever other backbends you may enjoy

If you do not want to perform all of these exercises, pick and choose to make something that works for you.  Just make sure you have elements of lower back, rectus abdominis (the “6 pack” muscle), obliques, and transverse abdominis (targeted mainly by static holds, like planks).  Cut back on the reps and challenge yourself by adding some weight, just remember to not use to much or you risk damaging your lower back.  Also, most importantly, do not perform core exercises everyday.  You wouldn’t target your bicep everyday, because it needs rest to transform.  Guess what, your core is the same!  Performing a million crunches everyday will not transform the look of your torso, so give it a break and incorporate it into your strength training routine.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

