the Lost Weekend

So this weekend was absolutely amazing.  Food wise, workout wise, awesome music wise…First I will get the concert stuff out of the way.  I was about four people back from the stage and in the middle of the maddness.  For the Avett Brothers, that is what you must do.  I met some awesome guys from Pittsburg and we talked incessently about the Avetts, because true fans are basically all friends and just don’t know it.  We actually talked through the opener because she was, well, not likeable for me.  She was talented and I appreciated her ability to be herself, but just not my thing.  The show started and it was non-stop energy from the start.  We made a game out of trying to guess what song they were going to play next based on what instruments they went to.  We are hardcore, what can I say.  There was copious amounts of jumping, which have caused my calves to still be sore.  Oh also, let me back up.  We stood outside in a monsoon.  Literally two seconds before it began to pour I asked my brother if I should go get an umbrella.  Once it started there was really no point.  The guys in front of us were desperately trying to save their cigarettes.  We were soaked.  They keep the House of Blues at a crisp 40 degrees as well, so not only we were soaking wet, but freezing cold as well.  But it was all completely worth it.  I really can’t describe the show because you just have to experience it.  You will look at their music in a completely different way.

But wait, this blog isn’t about music.  So let’s get to the workouts.

Apparently, I lost my mind a little bit on the drive up to my family’s house.  Because on Friday morning I got up and did the following:

– possibly 4-5 mile run (lost track)

– it began to get iffy weather-wise, so to the high school stadium I went and the havoc ensued

*Let me preface this with a little PSA – Consult your doctor before you start any new workout regimine and take caution, as this one is a doosy*

HIT (High Intensity Training) at the Stadium:

– 1 mile run around track keeping pace at 8 min mile

– run stairs, skipping every other step 5x (this is where it starts to get fun)

– immediately run to the track and lunge the straight-away

– single leg squats 20x per leg

– walk track 1x and bring HR back down

*repeat 5x*

– Cool down with walk around track until HR returns to normal and stretch

This one is tough because you will hit around 85% of your MHR most of the workout.  Plus your legs will reach muscle failure.  You can certainly tweak the workout to accommodate your level.  For instance, regular squats can be substituted and you can run the stairs normally.  This is sort of a base for a lower body/cardio day.  You will torch calories with no problem.

Today’s workout = Kick Your Arms into Shape, superset style

– Run 4 miles + 20 minutes on the revolving stairs of death

– dumbell chest press on Swiss ball 20 lbs 3 reps/10 (swiss ball is the air filled balls that most people do abs on; to properly perform this your shoulders and neck should be resting on the ball with your abs contracted to keep your torso parallel to the floor; this will kill your abs and add an element of difficult to the press so you may want to drop your weight back a bit)

– in between your press sets perform 25 reps crunches (which will equal 3 set)

– bicep curl (hammer or regular your choice) 20lbs 3 sets/10 reps; superset with single arm dumbell clean and press (I went with 15 lbs because my shoulders talk to me on these) 12 reps

– military press 10 lbs 3 sets/15 reps (hello tendonitis!) superset with overhead tricep press 20 lbs 12 reps

– here is where we take a break from the supersetting because we enter the pull up zone; you can either use the gravitron or assistance if you need help; I like to perform these on the Smith machine, just make sure that the bar is secure; 2 sets of max pull ups

– lat pull down 70 lbs 3 sets/10 reps superset with tricep push down with the rope attachment 20 lbs 12 reps

– upright row 55 lbs 3 sets/12 reps superset with push ups maxing out each set

Whew.  Now you just squeeze in a little lower back and you have been covered ;).  Remember that the weights are based on my ability, so customize them to your needs.  To pick the correct weight, you should be able to keep proper form and complete all reps of all sets with the last few reps being difficult but not impossible.  If you are shakey when this is all over, that is a good thing.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

