negative thoughts

Today started out swimmingly.  I made spiced pancakes and shared with the roomie.  They were so good.  The perfect way to fuel up for my seven mile run.  Then came my run :).  It was glorious.  I only took one walk break but other than that I ran straight through!  My legs, especially the hip flexors, are feeling it now.  For the first time today, I started to feel like I am a distance runner.  The last three miles seemed to fly by and were so easy!

That leads me into the topic of the week for Operation Beautiful.  Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point has her book debuting this week!  Congrats Caitlin!  Along with that, however, she is hosting a week of blog posts on “changing the way you see not the way you look.”  Today I decided to focus on negative thoughts and negative self-talk. 

This week I have been haunted by negative thoughts and general negativity.  Everything from the way that I look all the way to the way I performed my job.  The trouble with this is that the more you allow the negative thoughts to creep into your psyche the more you begin to believe them.  If you believe that you can’t run, you won’t ever start.  Being a personal trainer, negative thoughts within clients are the most difficult thing to overcome.  It is one of the few things that others cannot change about you.  You have to believe in yourself and know that you have the power to control your body and motivate yourself through whatever it is that is discouraging you.  Negative thoughts are like a fog.  They envelope you and therefore envelope your whole day.  It creates a domino effect and when you are weighed down with things like “I am fat” or “I am not a size 0” it sets the mood for your whole day.  When I was mired with negative thoughts, someone once told me that I should stop wallowing in my thoughts and do something about it.  Slowly but surely, you will experience things that take away your negative thoughts.  For me, I was able to run for the first time ever.  I found that focusing on the number on the scale only made me more obsessive about how I wasn’t where I wanted to be.  However, when it came to things like running my first 5K, there was no one to compare myself to.  There was no “place that I needed to be.”  I just reveled in the ability I had to finish a race and know how far I had come.  So when negative thoughts begin to haunt you, change your statement.  If you start to think, “I’m not good enough” replace that with “I’m going to accomplish —— today.”  Just simply accomplishing the little goals, will set you on a positive path and allow you to see that the power you possess! 

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

