rough week

Yikes has this been a rough one!  The fog is lifting though, which is good.  It started to lift when I went to Whole Foods Paycheck for a little pick me up.  The following may/may not have made it into my bag…

– 2 of the large tubs of Silk Vanilla Yogurt (as an aside, they apparently make “plain” now which really just doesn’t appeal to me at all; has anyone tried it?)

– a brown rice avocado roll

– three natural sodas, two raspberry and one black cherry

– a vegan chocolate chip cookie

– guacamole (for some reason, I cannot get good avocados here!)

– a box from the hot bar which included some of their almond slaw, sweet potato hummus (!), two dolmades (not good), and some wheat berry salad; the sweet potato hummus was outstanding!

Something that I found quite interesting was on the opinion board as you are leaving.  Someone wrote something to the effect of cashiers should not make people feel guilty for not bringing in their own reusable bags.  I have often felt that there are some people that work for “healthy” or “natural” stores that tend to run off people due to their elitism.  Vegetarians, vegans, raw foodist, etc, can sometimes get a holier than thou attitude because they think that their way of life is the best/most environmentally friendly/etc.  This is what gives us a bad name.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not generalizing and this does not hold true for all of us.  Alternatively, I have had people tell me that I am elitist because I use reuseable bags.  Really?  So the sword cuts both ways apparently.

I had intentions of making spiced pancakes this morning and unfortunately stayed up too late talking to my roommate to get up early enough to make them.  The plan is to whip them up tomorrow and hopefully they can help fuel me through my seven miles.  That’s right, tomorrow is seven mile day and lucky for me, the heat index has been in the 110s!  I will probably be waking up extra early for that.  The local vegetarian society is having a vegan potluck tomorrow night as well, and I may be able to attend that.  There are also lots of errands on the list for tomorrow.  Plus I am going to be writing all week for Caitlin’s “Change the Way You See Not The Way You Look” week

Yes, this month is shaping up to be quite a busy one!

I’ll wrap this up with some lyrics to a song that has been speaking to me this week…thank you Sara Groves:

Dress down your pretty faith, give me something real
Leave out the Thee and Thou and speak to me now
Speak to my pain and confusion
Speak through my fears and my pride
Speak to the part of me that knows I’m something deep down inside
I know that I’m not perfect, but compare me to most
In a world of hurt in a world of anger I think I’m holding my own
And I know that you’ve said there is more to life
No I am not satisfied
But there are mornings I wake up and I’m just thankful to be alive
I’ve known for quite a while that I am not whole
I’ve remembered the body and the mind, but dissected the soul
Now something inside is awakening
Like a dream I once had and forgot
And it’s something I’m scared of and something I don’t want to stop

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

