let me never let go….

So this post is going to be a hodge-podge.  The potpourri category in Jeopardy.  A warm-up to the Wednesday 10.  I will soon be leaving Germany.  I’m not excited about it, but it will be happening regardless.  To show my appreciation, I’m going to list some of my favorite things about Germany and my time here (in no particular order):

1.  The radio.  It is totally awesome.  They will play an oldie and then straight into some German wizard death metal.  It fits my music personality perfectly, because I am also all over the board.  The radio has also introduced me to some European music that I wouldn’t normally hear in the US.  I love Sportfreund Stiller and their “Lass Mich Nie Mehr Los” (literally “Let me never let go”).  Sadly, I cannot buy it on Itunes.  Anyway, I love the randomness of the stations.

2.  The language.  I was always put off by Deutch because it seems so harsh.  When you speak it and hear it though there is a flow.  Its not French or Italian, but it has its own spark. 

3.  Public Transport.  From the trains to the ability to walk so many places, I love it all.  It is astonishing to me that you can just hop on the train and head practically anywhere you like.  Plus, being able to only have one car and yet be able to get everything done is amazing to me.  Also the pedestrian areas that are located in each town are awesome. 

4.  The windows.  I really enjoy the way that they build things here.  However, I love the windows the most.  They are pretty large and they are hinged in a way that they can be tilted in or opened completly by swinging in.  Most buildings don’t have screens either.  That isn’t a problem because there really aren’t any bugs. 

5.  White asparagus aka Spargel.   Oh my.  I love white asparagus.  It is hard to come by in the States, but here during the spring and summer it is quite plentiful.  Just today, I had a spargel salat with balsamico-dressing.  It was so fantastic. 

6.  Holidays.  Germans take holidays really seriously.  Everything closes.  Literally.  They decorate everything and it is just super festive.  They also have way more national holidays than in the States.  When I went to the fair here it was so awesome.  They were celebrating the beginning of spring and had a fair along the lines of a state fair in the States.  The Christmas markets are outstanding and everyone is super cool.

7.  Piggy-backing on #6, the food.  While Germany presents some problems for a vegan, there are many opportunities to explore new foods and dishes.  I will probably never enjoy Italian food in the States again.  Also, the bread here is fantastic. 

There is so much more, but those items were in the forefront of my mind.

In other news, I am still lifting and running and such.  More to come on that later.

As for now vielen danke Deutchland!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to let me never let go….

  1. Joanna says:

    Aw! You love all the same things I did. You will seriously miss the windows, though. I find myself cussing at the “stupid American windows” (as I call them) constantly. Too bad it costs a pretty penny to have the “imported European” windows here in the States. Americans have no clue what they are missing out on…

Leave a Reply

