Wednesday ten

I’m going to try a new series where I reveal ten things, mostly about myself.  So here we go…

1.  I am a planner but hate deadlines that aren’t self imposed.  I think that writing is a creative process and I hate to be pushed.

2.  I have been in a gym for four hours before and not been an employee.

3.  I love talk radio.

4.  Along the same lines, I cannot sleep by myself if it is quiet.  I typically put on a podcast that lasts a few hours to lull me to sleep.  Music won’t usually do either, but TV will work.

5.  I love candles but only the ones that smell like fall/winter scents. 

6.  If I am participating in a race, I refuse to walk.  We shall see how this plays out when I do a half marathon.  When I am doing my cardio, I am the same way.  Once I start walking, that is typically the end of my run :(.

7.  I have an uncanny ability to attract people who want to tell me random stories about their life.  I whole-heartedly believe that I inherited this from my mother, because the same thing happens to her and it is twice as powerful when we are together.  I am talking about complete strangers here.

8.  My iPod is filled with the most random songs.  When I work at a desk job and it is permitted, I will be listening to hard core rap sometimes.  That always makes me laugh because of the irony.  The rap however, is often censored and I enjoy songs that are about something important, which usually lends itself to old-school stuff like Run DMC.  So I will be listening to my music and I will hear “Run This Town” by Jay-Z followed by “Syrinx” by Claude Debussy.  Just one of my quirks.

9.  I have secretly always wanted to go to culinary school and work in a kitchen.  Some problems are presented with this though.  I know that in culinary school there would be some sort of deboning a chicken requirement which I would never make it through.  Side story, I once decided to make stuffed cornished hens for J.  I unwrapped the hens and then that was about as far as I got.  Just couldn’t handle it.  So the idea of actually splaying open a chicken just would not work.  Also, if I were working in a kitchen, I would want it to be a “hobby job.”  You know, when you don’t necessarily need the money but are doing it for the experience or for fun. 

10.  I love palm trees.  Of the non-flowering plants group, this is my favorite.  I don’t really know why.  My bathroom is completely decorated in palm trees.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

