Take 2

I know you are all shocked by a second post today.  I am too.  I just couldn’t go to sleep without posting about my newest recipe.  Plus I included a picture, but it really isn’t that great…

Yummers

 That was the damage, believe there was more ;).  Anyways, I posted about a little Mexican type topping that I added to the pan seared polenta cakes.  So I did not have polenta tonight.  I made the topping though and ate it as a sort of salad.  Here is a bonus confession for today…I don’t like to eat spinach in whole leaves.  I am a big “mouth feel” person when it comes to food and I just can’t handle it.  This will come into play in a moment, so keep that in mind. 

For the salad, I heated some olive oil and added the chopped onion and mushroom.  After they were tender, I added a bit of minced garlic, salt, and Mexican seasoning.  I drained some black beans, black eyed-peas and Mexi-corn.  Added this to the skillet and turned off the heat so that everything would heat through.  Meanwhile, I chopped a tomato and added it to the top of the bean mix.  For the spinach, I decided to chiffonade the spinach leaves.  Yes!  For some reason that never occured to me.  To chiffonade, you basically take some type of leafy fresh herb (i.e. basil) or leafy green (i.e. spinach) and roll it into a tight strip.  Then you proceed to cut the leaves width-wise into long strips.  I tossed them with the beans off the heat and added a few splashes of red wine vinegar.  Perfecto!  The picture isn’t that great, but you can imagine how fantastic it was.  All of that and no processed foods!  Cooking from scratch isn’t really as hard as people think it is ;).  Typically people think of making things that are difficult, like lasagna or three layer cakes, when they think of cooking from scratch.  But really, stuff like this is just the same.  Even Mario Battali (sp?…too lazy to look that up right now ;), said on The Daily Show that he cooks basic stuff when he is at home.  Also, look at Jamie Oliver (*crush*) and the food he makes. 

Anyway, I will leave you with a picture of the football stadium in Barcelona in anticipation of the World Cup starting.  The US is going to have a tough go with their first game being England, but if they can hold out there (I think even a draw would be beneficial) the rest of the teams should be fairly straight forward.  If you want more info, you can go to the FIFA website and check out the schedule and such. 

Hooray for World Cup!

They call the FC Barcelona team Barca, affectionately.  That stadium is like a mecca for football clubs as it is the largest in Europe!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

