heavy lifting

I began my heavy lifting regimine.  The human body never ceases to amaze me quite frankly.  I think that is why I like nutrition and exercise science.  I get to explore the wonders of the body without all those gross body fluids.*  Anyway, my first day was with lower body, because I like lower body and assumed that would lessen the blow.  I learned that I was way underestimating my lifting ability.  I got:

3 sets of 10 reps at 180lbs leg press/previously I was 3 sets of 15 at 120-140

3 sets of 10 reps at 80 lbs squatting/previously I was at 45

3 sets of 10 reps at 70 lbs on the hamstring curl/previously I was 50

After all of that, I decided to do some body weight stuff so that I would be able to complete the 1 mile run home ;).  I think the rest of the workout was adduction/abduction stuff, single-leg lunges, single leg squats, and plie squats. 

Next day was upper body and I was slightly looking forward to it.  Here are the stats…

3 sets of 10 at 30 lbs on chest press (!)/previously I was at 15 lbs (I probably could have gone higher with the weight, but really would want a spotter)

3 sets of 10 at 15 lbs on bicep curls/previously I was at 10 lbs

3 sets of 10 at 8lbs on front shoulder raises/previously I was at 5 lbs (I was trying to take it a bit easy because I tend to have a lot of shoulder pain stemming from some tendonitis)

3 sets of 10 at 20 lbs tricep extension/previously I was at 10lbs (this was a biggie because my triceps are super weak and my biceps are stronger…I want to work on getting them more balanced)

3 sets of 10 at 80lbs on lat pulldown/I was previously at 50 lbs

3 sets of 10 at 15 lbs row/I was previously at 5 lbs (I am such a baby!)

I maxed my pushups out at 35 with 15 not being on my knees and then cranked out 7 pull ups at 3/4 of my body weight.  Rock!  I was again super surprised.  Also, shocked that my body was not really sore from the upper body lifting.  Odd. 

As you may suspect, I put the half marathon training on hold since I was having such bad calf pain.  So I was not running much distance and doing a whole ton of cross-training.  I started running again on the cruise but then got sick and couldn’t breathe so well, therefore the running was capping at about 2 miles.  Yesterday, I was really in the mood to run and got 4 miles in at 38 minutes ;).  It felt so good.  Its smart to listen to your body!

So in food related news, I’ve been eating a whole lot of tasty, yet uncreative food.  So uncreative that it really doesn’t deserve the time of picture taking and uploading.  However, I made a quick Mexican-type topping for some polenta cakes.

Chop mushrooms, onion and garlic.  Add mushrooms and onions to heated oil and saute until tender.  Add garlic and saute for one minute.  Toss in a can of black beans and a chopped tomato.  Heat through and add a little spice blend if you like.  Pour over oven roasted or pan seared polenta cakes.  Enjoy!

It turned out pretty yummy, but not picture worthy.  I am still doing my oatmeal in the mornings and loving it just as much as ever.  Who would have thought that I would be enjoying it so much! 

* Side story, I had to get blood drawn last week.  When I walked in, I asked if I could lie down because I always pass out.  This time, I was armed with some mental exercises and I thought that it would be ok.  They did not have a table, but a chair with a remote that they could recline if need be.  So they started with me not sitting straight up.  I think they took about 6 viles.  Usually I begin to fade shortly after I am stuck.  The lab tech asked if it was the blood or the needles.  It is really neither, because I am not really scared.  Anyway, he got done and after the needle was removed, I immediately begin to fade.  I did my usual “I don’t feel good, I am passing out” and of course he said I was fine and that was it.  I woke up completely reclined on the remote-control chair laying in a pool of sweat.  He said, “you’re back and your color is starting to come back.”  Great!  He then proceeded to tell me about other people passing out.  Complete with telling me about a person who “went to the bathroom, number two style.”  Nice.  I explained that I only sweat like I am running a marathon ;).  So yes, I don’t do well with the medical realm.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

