Back to Reality…

Well I’m back.  I went on a fantastic 11 day cruise plus a bonus, half day in Barcelona.  I actually flew with little to no circumstance, which is super unusual.  Could it be that I am actually becoming a flying regular?  I don’t think so. 

Basically, we went all around the Western Mediterranean and it was a fabulous trip.  I’ll put a few photos at the bottom to tide you over.  The food only wowed me once on the cruise, but otherwise it was mediocre not bad.  We ate twice in two of the ports and this would be one of the times that I wish I had unlimited wealth.  Oh well.  I can savor the two times that I enjoyed the most fantastic food.  At one of the cafes, I had the best olive oil I have ever had.  Quite literally, I could have drank the stuff right out of the bottle!  Ironically, the cafe also had some wine downstairs that was going for a scant 250 Euro. 

I also could have bought more food products than would be possible to carry back.  I got some garlic infused olive oil (!), two packages of a mix for pasta sauce (penne all’arrabbiata and penne all’amalfitana), and some mushroom pate-like substance (not really sure how to use this, but it looks yum and I could read the ingredients even though they were in French).  I tasted limoncello in Sorrento like it was our job.  And I have decided to get a kitchen towel at each location I visit.  That way I can enjoy the souvenier and use it too!  In Sorrento, I also got a spoon rest, because it was something that I needed and I thought, “why not.”  That would be more memorable than a random spoon rest from the store. 

And, I actually lost weight.  The key is moderation and I was going to the gym once a day when we were at a port and twice a day when we were at sea.  It is very easy to slip into “vacation mode eating” but since there really weren’t many things that were vegan and filled with calories I was pretty set.  Being vegan is an awesome way to eliminate the scary stuff like chocolate cake and such.  Also my ban on fried food eliminated fries and other types of fried potatoes.  One night I had a tofu steak with a sweet and sour sauce, which was much better than I expected.  However, there was a real problem with including side dishes of veggies.  That was my main complaint.  Also, there were two people who were overseeing the gym and teaching classes/personal training.  One was amazing and the other was awful!  I decided while I was there that I really need to ramp up my strength training routine.  I have not really increased my lifting weight in a while and I think I am just kidding myself.  For some reason, I would much rather do cardio than strength training.  So typically, I will do the bare minimum in terms of lifting.  My cruise partner was the inspiriation for that as well, because she lifts really heavy (in my opinion).  So my goal is to continue on with the cardio and to increase the intesity of my lifting routine.     

In addition to that, I have a lot of change coming in my life.  I cannot really reveal much now, but there is a hurricane forming in the ocean of my life.  So brace yourselves.   

Now to end on some pictures…

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

