No Impact Man…

So I took the No Impact Man book back to the library today and that made me think about writing a review.  I have followed Colin’s blog for a long time and when his book came out I was really interested in reading about his experience and how his family reacted.  I began reading the book not expecting ground-breaking information or writing, but I was wrong.  I was most struck by some of his comments about being a lax liberal.  Probably one of my favorite quotes from the book:

It’s true that I had occasionally tried to make a difference in the world, but I was coming to think my political views had too often been about changing other people, like Michelle, and too seldom about changing myself.  I made the mistake of thinking that condemning other people’s misdeeds somehow made me virtuous.  I’d become, I realized, a member of that class of liberals who allowed themselves to glide by on way too few political gestures and lifestyle concessions and then spent the rest of their energy feeling superior to other people who supposedly don’t do as much.” 

Wow.  How many people does that apply to?  While Beavan does not really go into great detail about the “how’s” of his experiment, he talks mainly about how it impacted his family and himself.  I really recommend reading the book, even if you are not interested in participating in any type of experiment as he did.  It will really make you think about how you live your life and the impacts that you make on the world as well as other people.

Anyway, I promised oatmeal photos and I also deliver them…

Yummers

 

Yum part II

Going back to last night, I made a delicious little meal that may/may not look good in pictures.  Just take my word for it…

Basically, take a delicious jar of marinara (I swear by Newman’s Own Marinara)

I love Newman's Own...

 And then I prepared the noodles (which were spirals that were made out of some leafy green and were bought at a German grocery store).  In a separate dish, I sauteed a whole onion and about 8 oz of mushrooms in a little olive oil.  Once they were tender, I added the marinara just to heat it through.  I tossed in a little nutritional yeast (aka “nooch”) for a little cheeziness, and then angels delivered the dish to me 😉

Deliciousness

 For good veggie measure, I also had a small salad…

Salad yum

 Then came lunch today.  If we were doing word association and I was asked my favorite food on the spot, it would be hands down guacamole.  Not anything fancy, just some mashed avocado, a little lime juice, a chopped tomato and salt.  I don’t even really need cilantro.  And I especially don’t like a jalapeno (my palate is not a fan of heat).  So now that avocados are not outrageously expensive, I have been keeping guacamole in the refrigerator like its ketchup.  So lunch today was a guacamole with fake bacon sandwich:

Heavenly

 Along with some brown lentils that I prepared last night…

Lentil goodness...

While at the library I also picked up a six DVD set of James Cagney films, because I’m 80 and love old movies.  Did I mention that Footlight Parade  is probably my favorite movie of all time.  It is so campy and the production is amazing!  They never make movies like that anymore.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Impact Man…

  1. conradvisionquest says:

    what a great excerpt from No Impact Man. i think we all need to remember to put our money where our mouths are so to speak. it reminds me of a quote that says “everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing themselves.”
    that guac sammich sounds yum.
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

