more testing and appetizer fun

Yes, I’m still recipe testing.  I have just been a slight bit under the weather this week and we have been somewhat social during the latter part of the week.  Anyway, I made some Orange Chocolate Chip cookies that are featured in Vegan Bakesale the upcoming cookbook by Carla.  They were fantastic!

Cookie

Cookie couple

Now, we are being social again tonight and attending a weekly potluck.  The theme is “Mexican” so I’m bringing a omni-dip and a vegan-dip.  No pictures, but I didn’t think they looked all that great anyway…

Black Bean Dip (vegan)

2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained

2 cans Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained

1 red pepper, chopped and seeded

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp cumin

1 1/2 tsp oregano

1 tsp chipotle type seasoning

juice from three limes

3/4 c. fresh cilantro

Process all ingredients except cilantro until smooth.  Add cilantro and pulse to mix and chop cilantro.  Refrigerate until ready to serve

Notes!  This is really good and also quite healthy! I used the Collard Green seasoning, because my mom’s box came today and I felt like I had received a special package of drugs but it was just the seasoning.  Anyway, this recipe makes a ton!  I think I got between 4-6 cups worth of dip, and therefore had to process the ingredients in batches because my poor processor was dying from all the work.  Super delicious, especially with the cilantro!

Tex Mex Dip (non-vegan)

16 oz nonfat sour cream

1 c. salsa

4 pita rounds (6 inches in size)

In a bowl, combine sour cream and salsa.  Cover and chill for at least 2 hours.  Cut each pita into six wedges; separate each wedge into 2 pieces.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet and bake at 275 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until crisp.

Notes!  This is one of my mom’s recipes and I thought that it was easy enough.  When I am taking two dishes to a potluck, I try and make one as easy as possible, because I’m already doing double work.  J seemed to really like this a lot.  Its easy, no big deal type of recipe that works in a pinch.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

