weekend trip/recipe testing fun

We have had another fun-filled weekend.  I was so skilled that I was even able to test a recipe!  So we set out on Friday with train schedule in hand to head towards a town called Regensburg.  It is a UNESCO heritage site and we wanted to see what all the hubbub was about.  It was really neat to see the buildings that are literally from the beginning of the common era.  There were sites from the 100s and churches from the 1200s.  It is amazing to see all of that history, particularly when (outside of when I was in Israel) the earliest history you see is from the 1600s.  If you are lucky in the states there are things that are prehistoric or from Native American tribes, but mostly the stuff is from the colonial era.  Now, if you will remember when we went to Wien, I pretty much gorged myself on falafels.  I got my fill of them which was the plan and while they were available in Regensburg, I did not have one!  Mostly I snacked on PB Clif bars and tempeh jerky because eating out can be expensive and/or questionable (in terms of whether animal products are or are not in the entree…this is made difficult by my lack of conversational Deutch).  However, we ducked into an Italian restaurant (which were quite prolific) and I discovered that just as Mexican food gets better the closer you get to Mexico, Italian food becomes much better the closer you are to Italy.  I am not sure if it was the ingredients or the preparation, but my food was so fantastic and filling.  I was so full that I skipped dinner and just had a hot dark chocolate to drink as a little pick-me-up. 

Pizza dough with oregano, olive oil, and tomato sauce

Spaghetti with olive oil and tomatoes

 I was lucky enough to find a French cooking shop on one of the little side streets.  It was amazing and she had an entire room dedicated to kitchen linens, which I could have spent the entire day in.  However, I got away with just one purchase…

Violet Syrup

 If anyone has any suggestions for how to use this wonderful syrup let me know.  I’m going to be scouring the internet for some ideas, but I am open to anything.

Finally, when we got home today I made the vanilla cupcakes for recipe testing for Vegan Bakesale.  They are sooo yummy and the vanilla flavor was so fantastic.  I didn’t ice them, mainly because I wanted to see how they did on their own.  They are wonderful and the flavor wasn’t strong enough to overpower an icing or frosting.  I am looking forward to this cookbook coming out!

Vanilla Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcakes part II

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

