hard hard worker

I’ve been busier than normal lately.  Its good because then the fact that I haven’t seen the sun in over a month won’t really bother me as much.  Some women today were telling me about a couple of tanning salons around here, but I’m trying to tone them out.  I have heard that some “doctors” have prescribed tanning beds for people with Seasonal Affective Disorder, but I’m not really all that sure that I’m willing to take that chance.  Now if someone has a spray on tan, I’m in ;).  J and I were both lamenting the other day how we have both lost our tans and become pasty white. 

Anyway, I’m working hard on an article that I’m going to shop around.  In addition, I have been cooking a few things.  Sadly, I have not been taking any pictures. 

First of all, I made some delicious Vegan Black Bean Chili.  You can find the recipe here.  The adjustments that I made were to leave out the carrot completely.  For some reason, that just did not sound good to me in a chili.  I also used brown rice instead of white rice so that I can up my whole grain intake.  Therefore, I used 2 1/4 c. of stock instead of the 1 1/3 c. that is recommended in the recipe.  It is so delicious.  I’m still eating on it and it is fantastic.

Also, if you remember, I loved Greek Olive Hummus when I was in Florida.  It was so delicious since it combined two of my favorite flavors:  green olive and hummus.  So I decided in the spirit of “back to basics” to try my hand at a green olive hummus. 

Green Olive Hummus (vegan)

1-2 garlic cloves

2 cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

juice of half a lemon

3/4 c. sliced green olives

1 tsp tahini

juice from olive jar

Pulse garlic, chickpeas, and lemon juice until chopped.  Add in remaining ingredients and add olive juice a little at a time until hummus achieves desired consistency.

Notes!  Hmm, this was absolutely fantastic.  I also loved that I didn’t need to add any additional oil.  Now for people that have an aversion to salty foods, this would not be for you.  Also, I must caution that there is no need to add any additional salt, as the olives and the juice provide plenty of salt to flavor the hummus.  This recipe makes about two cups of hummus, I think.

Oregano Olive Chicken (not vegan)

1.5 lbs thin chicken breasts

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 c. chicken broth

1/2 c. chopped green olives

1/4 c. capers, drained

2 tbsp fresh oregano/2 tsp dry oregano

1 tbsp fresh mint / 1 tsp dried mint

1 tbsp cider vinegar

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp thyme

Brown chicken in oil.  Remove from pan and keep warm.  Combine remaining ingredients and pour into skillet.  Boil and return chicken to pan.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer 20-25 minutes or until chicken is done.

Notes!  J really enjoyed this.  I made some brown rice for him to put the chicken on top of, because he loves rice and will compromise and use brown rice.  He also really loves capers for some reason, so the combo of olives and capers won him over.  I ended up slicing the chicken into bite sized pieces after it cooked at the request of J.  I think that works out well.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

