recipe testing not so good for calorie counting

So I did my first recipe test today for Vegan Bakesale.  I began to make some Vanilla Bean Cupcakes which I am dying to try.  Today though, I focused on Pumpkin and Cranberry Muffins:

Behold - Pumpkin and Cranberry Muffin!

If this is a litmus test for the recipes to come my calorie intake is in trouble.  At one time I loved pumpkin bread.  I still do, but it sends me down a slippery slope of eating half the loaf all by myself.  So I haven’t had pumpkin bread in a long time.  This has fulfilled my pumpkin bread needs.  It is deliciously dense and in a sense “sticky.”  That’s the best way that I can describe the mouth-feel.  I was a bit concerned that the muffin would be too spicy due to the amounts of spices that went into it, but it seemed spot on to me.  The big test was that J tried them.  He tends to avoid vegan baked goods/desserts because he thinks that they are too salty, which is odd to me.  So I told him that he was not obligated to try any of the recipes that I am testing, but was welcome to if he wished.  He came home just as I was pulling them out of the oven and asked “can I have these now?”  I let them cool, which is a difficult thing for baked goods around here and with J around.  They popped right out of the muffin tins and we each tried one at the same time.  J did douse his with butter, but mine was naked.  Needless to say that we both liked them.  J really liked them and went back for more, which is really a test as to how good they were.  Sorry I cannot post the recipe but I will let everyone know once the cookbook is out!

Don't worry, I didn't eat all three 😉

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to recipe testing not so good for calorie counting

  1. Carla says:

    Nice post! Yay for muffins!

Leave a Reply

