2010 Goals

I have never been a fan of the term “resolution.”  I do not know why but maybe because it seems weird to resolute yourself to something.  So I prefer the term “goals.”  So let’s get to it shall we:

1.  Run a Half Marathon – This one is important to me.  I have been talking about this for a while, but this year it will be done.  Usually something will come up to prevent me from taking on the challenge, but I will work my hardest to train and get through it even if it is a slow 13 miles.

2.  Practice more yoga – When I was working at a gym in Oklahoma I taught Pi-Yo, which is a hybrid pilates and yoga class.  I really enjoyed it and the class kept me limber and lean.  I have not practiced true yoga in over a year and I need to get back to it.  I started this morning with a 20 minute yogadownload.com podcast so that I could ease back into it.  I am not naive enough to believe that I will be at the same level I was a year and a half ago.  Thus just the 20 minute beginner workout.  I know the poses, just getting there will be a challenge.  I was amazed that I was almost able to do a straight shoulder stand.  An addedum to this goal is to be able to a free-standing handstand. 

3.  Continue Back to Basics – I have somewhat fallen off the wagon with the back to basics campaign.  But have no fear…I plan on phasing out a lot more.  Two big items on the list are to stop being afraid and tackle the whole bread issue.  The other one is to make a veggie burger.  Other things include veggie and mushroom stock (both so easy to make but never done it), homemade cleaning supplies (I do love Mrs. Meyer’s though), and perhaps seitan. 

4.  Reading more often – When I was back in the states I will admit that my level of reading dropped dramatically.  My day was about 12 hours long and included a workout, a two hour round trip commute to work, an 8 hour work day and then I would laze around watching TV.  Since coming to Europe, I have luckily (or perhaps unfortunately for some of you) been forced to have a small number of channels that rarely have something interesting to watch.  I usually read an hour every night, but still catch myself wasting time on the internet.  So I am planning on being a regular at the library.

5.  Publishing at least two articles – I really want to get back into academic/non-fiction writing.  I had some nice downtime between my thesis and now and I think that the writing bug is back.  I still want to focus myself on homemaking, but perhaps drill it down a bit more to focus on women and food.

6.  Pull-Ups – I envy people who can do a dead-hang pullup.  I want to be able to do at least one unassisted pullup before the end of the year.  It will take some work, but I do not think that it is impossible.

7.  Whittle my Recipes – I have so many recipes it is ridiculous.  I have duplicates and several recipes for the same dish just with little tweaks.  Recipes and cookbooks are where the little hoarder in me comes out.  I like to keep them all.  Alas, I don’t need them all.  Therefore, I am trying to make different things all of the time and judging if the recipe is a keeper or not.  I also want to go through my cookbooks and do the same.

8.  Continue toning – I never liked the idea of starting out the new year with another weight goal.  I am within my “normal” BMI range, but the closer that I can get to the center the healthier my body is. 

So there we go.  Mostly all related to food and working out/staying healthy, both mentally and physically.  These are the main goals that I have, but there are others.  Just not something I want to share right now.  This year will be an interesting one, for sure!  What are some of your goals?

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

