No soup for you

Since we have been wandering around in the cold and when we got back from Vienna there was 8 inches of snow on the ground, it was time for soup.  First let me recap some Vienna food love:

Falafel Salad

J's pesto pasta - which he said was way too rich for him

Gourmet vinegar

Spices

Pastries

Goodies

Fresh pasta

Produce!

Appel Strudel show

All the strudel you could ever want

Falafel pita! Delicious!

Now that all of that is out of the way, I have two soup recipes from the other night.  I made broccoli soup and roasted cauliflower soup (vegan).  The broccoli soup has the potential to be vegan, but J wanted it this way so I obliged.  No pictures either, because I just don’t think that soup looks well in a picture.

Broccoli Soup (non-vegan, but adaptable)

2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped

1 onion, chopped

3 tbsp olive oil

30 oz vegetable broth

2 c. water

4 1/2 c. broccoli (I used a whole head)

1/2 c. rice, uncooked

2 c. milk

1/4 c. Parmesan cheese, shredded

Saute carrots and onion in oil for three minutes.  Add broth and water and bring to a boil.  Stir in broccoli and rice.  Simmer 10-15 minutes stirring frequently, until the rice is tender.  Blend until pureed with immersion blender or regular blender.  Return to pot and add milk and cheese.  Cook until heated through.

Notes!  J really seemed to like this.  He likes broccoli a lot and I could slip the carrots in under the radar.  The potential is there to change the milk to perhaps an almond milk or some other non-dairy milk and just omit the cheese.  I am never a fan of vegan cheese and just prefer to leave it out all together.  Quick to put together and even less time if you have an immersion blender.  That is an awesome kitchen tool and I wonder why I have been living without one for so long.

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

1 head of cauliflower

1 onion, wedged

2 cloves garlic, peeled

4 c. veggie broth

1 potato, cubed

1/4 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Cut cauliflower and place on rimmed baking sheet and spray with olive oil.  Bake 20 minutes.  Place garlic and onion in with cauliflower and spray with oil.  Return to oven and bake 20-25 minutes more.  Heat broth and add potato.  Boil and reduce heat.  Cook covered until potatoes are tender.  Add cauliflower mix to broth and puree in batches or with an immersion blender.  Add nutmeg and simmer 10 minutes.

Notes!  I love this soup.  It gives the mouth feel of a hearty creamy soup without the cream and calories.  I left the skin on my potato and it turned out well.  I also tossed in two onions, because my onions were rather small.  I also omitted the nutmeg because of personal whim that day.  Sometimes I add it sometimes I don’t, so it tastes well either way.  I do add a considerable amount of salt when I am eating a portion.  I decide to not add it to the whole batch, because I am afraid of making it overly salty.  I also love the flavor of salt, so a little kosher salt in my soup is great.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

