Christmas and everything after

I apparently lost a couple of days between Christmas and now.  Whew.  It was a really fun holiday and I was really glad that J could spend it with me.  He is always a blast, which is why I committed myself to him for life ;).  He’s a keeper.  Anyway, we were both graciously spoiled with gifts and food this year, which is really no different than previous years.  To spare you the details, I will go over some food related gifts:

– immersion blender (yes, this was an awesome gift…I actually used it to make my whipped peas on Christmas day)

– blender (I have not had a blender since I left the states, because I was borrowing my MIL’s.  So I am super excited to return to green monsters!)

– mushroom brush

– Ezekiel Original cereal (I love this cereal and it is difficult to find anywhere, much less outside of the states.  I was lucky enough to get 4 boxes!)

– Tea (I got some tea from Hawaii, tea from Germany, and tea from the states.  I need to start drinking more tea!)

– Flax seeds, pumpkin seeds, and whole wheat pastry flour (I asked for these because I am crazy and put actual food items on my list.  I have since found pumpkin seeds, since my Deutch is much better, but the other two are still non-existent)

– Wine! (Santa apparently thinks that I am a lush, because I got four bottles in my stocking.)

Dinner was a hit, and J is still eating on the leftovers.  J cooked the turkey on the grill and apparently it was fantastic.  He was pleased and I was impressed ;).  Otherwise, the goodies flowed and we were all pretty much stuffed and in food comas by the end of the meal.

The beautiful table setting done by J

The table setting

Vegan sweet potatoes

Whipped Peas and Mushrooms

Cornbread Dressing

Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

Dessert Tray - from left to right: chocolate chunk almond cookies, vegan shortbreads and non-vegan double decker fudge

I’ll be posting the recipes for the whipped peas and vegan sweet potatoes in a separate post.  We went to Vienna for New Year’s Eve so I am still trying to get myself back into some sort of schedule.  I will post resolutions as well as new recipes hopefully tomorrow!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

