Christmas dinner countdown day three

Whew!  Almost there.  Today we spent the morning opening some gifts so that we wouldn’t have to clean up everything before company comes over tomorrow.  I will post pictures of that later.  J got a popcorn popper for the stove along with enough popcorn to last for a few months.  He wanted me to take a picture of his popcorn in his new popcorn bowl which he also loves:

Popcorn!

I put together the broccoli casserole minus the breadcrumb topping, so now it just needs to be baked.  Also, apparently something spilled onto the bottom of the oven and was the bane of my existence tonight.  I didn’t get all of it up, but most of it, thanks to a baking soda paste and a scrubber brush.  But other than that, I just made the dressing for the salad and the double almond chocolate cookies.

Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

1/2 c. sugar

1/3 c. fresh lemon juice

2 tsp finely chopped onion

1 tsp dijon mustard

1/2 tsp salt

2/3 c. oil

1 tbsp poppyseeds

Combine all ingredients except oil in a food processor.  With the processor running, drizzle in oil.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Notes!  This dressing is pretty delicious.  I love it particularly in the summer on a spinach salad with some fruit and nuts.  It works great on any salad really, plus it is super easy to make and keep in the fridge.

Double Chocolate Almond Cookies (vegan)

1 c. flour

1/4 c. cocoa

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3 tbsp almond slivers

3 tbsp semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 c. sugar

1/3 c. maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 c. oil

1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix dry ingredients together.  Add almonds, chocolate chips, sugar and salt.  Separately, mix syrup, vanilla and oil.  Add wet ingredients into dry and mix well.  Bake 11 minutes making sure not to bake any longer.  Let cool 1 minute on baking sheet and then cool completely on wire racks.

Notes!  These are super yummy.  They will be an addition to the dessert tray that I am making for dessert.  I have made these before for a dessert potluck and they were an absolute hit!  Vegans and non-vegans alike loved them.  They are not super sweet so that is nice for people who don’t like to overindulge.  This recipe does not make a lot of cookies though.  It makes about 12-15 cookies, so keep that in mind when making it.  I have never actually doubled the recipe so I’m not sure if that would work out, but I don’t see why not.

Yummy Cookies!

I’m taking tomorrow off from blogging so I hope that everyone has a very happy holiday and a merry Christmas.  Look forward to the Christmas dinner wrap up with all the remaining recipes!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

