Christmas dinner countdown – Day 2

Today’s preparation was hampered by a clogged drain.  I knew it was coming, as the drain time was getting slower.  The other day I unscrewed the drain and found some disgusting stuff in the drain.  I got most of it out, but I had to stop because the smell was making me ill.  I broke down and called the repair person today and they were able to come shortly after lunch.  Now I have a clog free drain thank goodness.

I made it to the gym today and ran four miles with the last 1.5 miles as an interval run.  I then did a quick upper body workout.  I am starting CrossFit in January and am trying to get into a place where I will be in shape for the classes.  Two a week for six weeks is going to be crazy!

I prepped the sweet potatoes today and made my own special sweet potatoes that will be vegan.  In addition, I made the double decker fudge, vegan almond shortbread, and Bourbon Pie.

Vegan Almond Shortbread

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. ground almonds or almond flour

1 tsp powder

1/2 tsp salt

8 oz non-dairy margarine, softened

2/3 c. powdered sugar

1 tbsp plain soymilk

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 c. chopped almonds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combin flour ground almonds, powder, and salt.  Beat margarine and sugar.  Beat in milk and extracts.  Add flour mix slowly.  Stir in chopped almonds.  Shape dough into 1 inch balls and flatten.  Bake 12-15 minutes or until just beginning to brown.  Cool and dust with sugar.

Notes!  These are so good!  They have a familiar taste to shortbreads and would be a great cookie to make a “cookie sandwich” with.  I only had vanilla soymilk, but I couldn’t tell in the cookies.  Also, I left out the chopped almonds, because I was a little afraid that the almond flavor would be overwhelming.  Perhaps next time, I will add some in and see what that tastes like.  Mine took about 15 minutes before I was satisfied with how they looked.  Also, mine made about 20 cookies, but perhaps that is because the batter was so delicious ;).  That is the beauty of vegan baking – no worries about eating the batter!

Almond Shortbreads

Bourbon Pie

1 stick butter

1 c. sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 c. flour

pinch of salt

2 tbsp. Kentucky bourbon or 1 tsp vanilla

1 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1 c. chopped pecans or walnuts

pie shell

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy

Add beaten eggs, flour, salt, and bourbon or vanilla.  Spread chocolate chips and nuts in bottom of pie shell and pour filling over it.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until center is set. 

Notes!  I made my own pie crust again!  This time I let it chill overnight and it rolled out much easier.  I baked it for about 10 minutes in a 400 degree oven, before adding the ingredients of the pie.  I believe that this pie could be easily veganized, but I’ve never used any egg replacer in a pie before.  Anyone have any thoughts on that?  Otherwise, this pie is super easy and took exactly 30 minutes to bake.

Bourbon Pie

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

