Christmas dinner countdown – Day 1

So big meals in my family are something you prep over a few days.  There are menu plans, grocery trips, prep work for recipes, etc.  We typically have so much food that you could not possibly have it prepared in one day.  So the Martha and me Christmas dinner prep began today.  Well yesterday, if you count the menu planning and the trip to the grocery store.  Luckily I was able to find everything, even the dried grated orange peel for J’s turkey (I refuse to cook meat that has a bone or resembles the animal in the least bit, so cooking turkeys is not my bag).  The only thing that we didn’t find was Madiera for the glogg.  Not critical, so we will substitute with brandy and move on ;). 

Here is the menu:

– Some sort of Orange Sage Turkey that will be cooked on the grill

– Cornbread dressing

– Sweet potato casserole (this is more like a dessert, but it does not have marshmallows on it because I think that is blasphemy)

– Broccoli Casserole

– Buttermilk Biscuits

– Spinach salad with homemade poppy seed dressing

– Sausage dip appetizer

– Glogg (a Scandanavian mulled wine)

– Homemade macaroni and cheese

– Kentucky bourbon pie

– Dessert tray with vegan shortbread, PB chocolate fudge, vegan double chocolate almond cookies, and some other delicious treats

Yum!  Today I got the pie crust started so it will be nice and chilled when I make the pie later.  I also made the buttermilk biscuits and cornbread for the dressing.  Both completely from scratch!  The buttermilk biscuits were also a test run as that is what I will be making as the bread portion of the meal.  It went swimmingly!  I also made some Olive, Walnut, and Rosemary butter last week.  I didn’t actually make the butter, just softened some Earth Balance and mixing it with 1/4 c. of Kalamata olives and walnuts and about a tablespoon of dried rosemary.  It is super yummy.

The buttermilk biscuit recipe is from the Martha Stewart Living Christmas Cookbook so I can’t repost it.  But you can get a buttermilk biscuit recipe pretty much anywhere and I believe there are even some vegan equivalents out there.  The cornbread recipe was super simple and I baked it in an iron skillet.  If you don’t own an iron skillet, I really recommend that you get one.  As long as you take care of it and don’t wash it with soap, the skillet/pan will last forever.  Plus it adds a bit of iron to your food which is a little added bonus. 

Buttermilk Biscuit

Cornbread

 1 1/4 c. flour

3/4 c. corn meal

1/4 c. sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 c. milk

1/4 c. oil

2 egg whites or 1 egg, beaten

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease 8 or 9 inch pan, preferably an iron skillet.  Combine dry ingredients.  Stir in milk, oil and egg, mixing just until dry ingredients are moistened.  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until light golden brown and wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

Notes!  I really don’t have anything to say, other than making cornbread from scratch is really easy. 

Cornbread

 In completely unrelated news, last night I watched Will Vinton’s Claymation Christmas on You Tube.  It was just as fantastic as I had remembered and J had never seen it before.  That used to be a favorite at our house.  Then I watched Garfield’s Christmas.  I have always enjoyed Garfield a litte because of his general sarcasm and apathy.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

