Let it Snow

Its been snowing since yesterday and last night we actually went out on the road…to drive!  You see we have never driven in the snow.  When we lived in Oklahoma and I was at the house by myself one winter, we had a ice storm.  I didn’t leave the house for five days.  So it was pretty interesting and I was on pins and needles the whole time.  But we made it safe and sound.  We went to a little potluck get together and the theme was soups, sandwiches, and salads.  I made some Texas Caviar and Oh She Glows Sweet Potato and Pear Soup.  For the soup, the only change I made was not adding the coconut milk (because I couldn’t find any around here) and I added probably 1/2 tsp kosher salt because it was a little too sweet for me.  But the soup was fantastic and was a hit at the potluck and vegan!

Texas Caviar

2 cans black eyed peas

2 c. fresh or frozen corn, thawed

1 red pepper, chopped

1 red onion, chopped

6 tomatoes, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

2 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp sugar

1/2 c. red wine vinegar

1/4 c. water

Combin peas and veggies.  Mix remaining ingredietns and pour over salad.  Refrigerate overnight before serving.

Notes!  Let’s be serious.  I did not marinate this overnight.  But that didn’t really matter because it marinated about 5 hours and it was fine.  The flavor will be a lot stronger, obviously, the longer it marinates though.  I have also done this recipe with black beans as opposed to black eyed peas.  This dish was also a hit, particularly with J who was happy that there were some leftovers.  He was not happy to see the leftovers of the sweet potato soup, but I certainly was ;).

Texas Caviar

Sweet Potato and Pear soup

Then there was breakfast today.  I had a recipe for Spiced Pancakes that I wanted to try for the longest time.  I love pancakes and had not found a good vegan recipe that tasted good.  I also wanted to make a baked grits casserole for J.  So here we are:

Spiced Pancakes

1 c. flour

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 1/2 tsp powder

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/4 tsp salt

1 c. non-dairy milk

2 tbsp oil

Combine dry ingredients.  Combine milk and oil and stir into dry ingredients.  Pour batter by 1/4 c. onto hot pan or griddle.  Turn when bubbles form on top.

Notes!  First off, these were delicious!  Now, with that said, I used an iron frying pan and used about 1/2 c. of batter per pancake.  This yielded five good sized pancakes that were still manageable in the pan.  Also, mine never got any bubbles on top like pancakes normally do.  So I just sort of guesstimated and it worked out well.  These were so good that J ate two of these!  I used soy milk as my non-dairy milk and olive oil as the oil and everything was fine.  You could probably substitute any spice like cinnamon or nutmeg for the pumpkin pie spice blend as well.  Next time I am going to try whole wheat flour and see what happens with that.

Spiced Pancakes

Paula Deen’s Baked Garlic Cheese Grits (oh so seriously not vegan)

6 c. chicken broth

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

2 c. grits

3 (6 oz) rolls garlic cheddar spread

1/2 c. milk

4 eggs, beaten

1 stick butter

1 c. grated cheddar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare 4 quart dish with non-stick spray.  Bring broth and salt and pepper to a boil.  Stir in grits and simmer until thick.  Add garlic cheese spread and milk.  Gradually stir in eggs and butter.  Pour into prepared dish and sprinkle with cheese.  Bake 45 minutes until set.

Notes! As a wellness coach, this recipe is not something you want to eat much at all.  It is one of Paula Deen’s recipes off of her TV show and I really am not a fan of hers.  I’m sure all of her food is delicious, but it is often very nutrient poor, as is this recipe.  J was wanting something like this, so I made it, but probably will stowe it away for five years later.  He loved it though.  I used a garlic soft cheese spread, which was more likely a goat cheese than cheddar.  It was in German so I am not exactly sure what kind of cheese it was.  I also did not have a 4 quart dish and used two 2 1/2 quart dishes and it turned out fine.  Again, I must say that this recipe is full of fat and calories and makes way too much for one person to eat in a timely manner. 

Baked Grits

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

