warm comfort food

It is commonly understood that when it is chilly people crave foods that can warm them from the inside out.  That’s what happened to me today.  I started the day with a Gaiam Pilates workout that I didn’t really enjoy.  It wasn’t challenging enough for me, so I’ll be stacking that in the “save for teaching aides” pile.  For lunch, I enjoyed my leftovers from last night mixed with brown rice and some additional green olives:

Yum.

It was exactly what I needed.  Hot and gooey and fabulous.  Plus it doesn’t hurt that it isn’t really bad for you.  For dessert I had another Asian pear.  If you have never had an Asian pear, it is probably my favorite fruit.  The mouth feel and flavor is really fantastic for me.  Sort of a mix between a pear and an apple.  The only problem is that it is typically really expensive.  Luckily, it is much less expensive here so I can enjoy them more often:

Asian pear

We went for a long walk this afternoon.  J didn’t want to go to the gym tonight and I am really sore and should probably take it off as well.  We walked to a pond which was quite frozen.  Not something that I would walk on though, because you could tell that there was water flowing under it.  Dinner was early, but we were hungry.  I had two Nature’s Own Organic Flax waffles (these are fantastic and the only vegan waffles I’ve been able to find) and…

Grits!

I love grits.  This is the tale-tell sign that I am from the south.  I really enjoy eating them when it is cold outside, because it is like they coat your insides with warm goodness.  These are just regular grits with a good dash of kosher salt.  This to me is ultimate comfort food!

J’s dinner was leftover Mexican Lasagna, but he insisted that I get a picture of it:

Repeats

He put a bit of sour cream on top to dress it up a bit.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

