hybrid night!

First off let’s start with lunch.  After getting back from shopping I was super hungry.  You see I started today with doing a workout video at the homestead in the morning and then joining J at the gym at night.  He likes to go to the gym at night because it helps him beat SAD (seasonal affective disorder – not that we are diagnosed or anything, it just gets depressing when the sun goes down at 3pm and it really hasn’t been out from the clouds all day).  I do not like to go to the gym at night because I am less motivated and I am wide awake afterward.  So to combat my lack of motivation, I can get a workout in during the morning and then do some cardio at night.  I am more likely to sham during my strength workout.  I think the Kathi Smith video kicked my tail a little this morning and I was hungrier than usual.  I had a nice spinach salad with oil and vinegar, cauliflower, fake bacon bits, tomatoes and almonds; an Asian pear; the last of the Mexican polenta; and a snickerdoodle blondie.  Yum!

Salad and Asian pear

Mexican Polenta

Snickerdoodle delicious-ness!

For dinner, I am calling it a hybrid meal.  It was a Mexican Lasagna! 

Mexican Lasagna

1 tube turkey sausage or 1 pkg boca crumbles

an envelope of taco seasoning

3/4 c. water

1 can veggie refried beans

1/2 c. salsa

6 flour tortillas

2 c. frozen corn, thawed

8 oz shredded cheddar

Saute sausage or Boca crumbles until browned.  Stir in water and seasoning.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes.  Combine beans and salsa in a microwaveable bowl.  Cover and microwave 1-2 minutes or until spreadable.  Place 3 tortillas in a greased 2 1/2 qt. round dish.  Layer with half of beef, beans, corn and cheese.  Repeat layers.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes.  Let stand for 5 minutes and serve.

Notes!  J really liked this one too.  I used turkey sausage and it baked for about 40 minutes.  There isn’t much else to say about it other than you could leave out the cheese and use boca crumbles and it could easily become vegan.  I’m all about versatility ;).

Mexican Lasagna

For my dinner, I sort of threw something together.  I mixed a can of refried beans with a splash of salsa and some green olives.  I spread it on some fresh baked bread and it was fantastic.

My dinner

And now it is bed time!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

