Martha and Me

Ah Martha Stewart.  People seem to love her or hate her, but I fall into a rare category of genuinely liking her.  You have to get over the fact that she is very proud of herself, but she should be.  She built an empire out of nothing, mostly while she was a single mother.  She is a perfectionist, but what is wrong with striving to be the best you can.  I do find her problematic in her lack of understanding the world of people that live in lower-middle to lower class societies.  Also, a lot of her claims for the necessity of completely extravagant ingredients and items seems ridiculous.  However, I do believe that using the highest quality ingredients will result in a more delicious product.  She can also write an awesome recipe.  I have admittedly never purchased any cookbooks or magazines of Stewart’s but I do own several of her pieces of tupperware which I wholeheartedly enjoy.  When my mom was doing a spring-cleaning of her cookbooks, I jumped at the opportunity to take two of Stewart’s cookbooks.  I now have a pale blue The Martha Stewart Cookbook and a fantastic Martha Stewart Christmas Cookbook.   I will be having a Martha and Me Christmas meal in which I will incorporate recipes from the Christmas cookbook as well as family recipes into our meal.  Look forward to that. 

But today, I have had a wicked sweet tooth for about a week.  You must understand when you are a vegan and you are surrounded by non-vegan friends who make non-vegan Christmas treats, you get a yearning for something sweet, delicious and vegan!  So yesterday, as if I was being smiled upon, I found this recipe in my blog reader.  Oh yes!  That’s right, Snickerdoodle Blondies.  I used Ener-G Egg replacer in place of the eggs and baked them for about 30 minutes.  They were fantastic!  I am going to hold myself to only one a day because I quite possibly could eat the whole pan and make myself sick.  This is a fabulous recipe and will definitely be making it again.

Snickerdoodle Blondies

Finally, I knew that J would not like the snickerdoodle blondies so I decided to make him a treat as well so he wouldn’t feel left out.  So I whipped up the first recipe from the Martha Stewart Christmas Cookbook.  I cannot replicate the recipe, but J said they were delicious and better than store bought brownie mix.  The original recipe called for them to be baked in individual muffin tins so that they would have crisp sides, but J hates the edges.  There is that brownie pan that makes every brownie an edged brownie and that is blasphemy to J.  So I just poured the batter into a 13×9 pan and it worked out well, with the same amount of baking time. 

Martha Stewart's brownies

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Martha and Me

  1. So glad you enjoyed them; they are addictive!

  2. Pingback: Back to the Basics « One Vegan Foodie

Leave a Reply

