recovery

Things are going well in the recovery department.  On Saturday I was supposed to take off the ace bandage that was around my calf.  I was not excited about that, since I got queasy just thinking about the surgery.  I didn’t want the wound exposed to the world, especially since I really just didn’t want to look at it.  So I got J to remove the ace bandage very carefully.  Then we discovered that there was a gauze wrapping under the ace bandage.  I was concerned about taking that off, but it eventually fell off.  Then we found that there was surgical tape over the wound to help keep it closed.  Of course I got light-headed just looking at the surgical tape.  I am a self-described wuss.

So I’ve continued to keep my leg elevated and have moved on from the crutches.  But I still can’t hobble around too much before it starts telling me hello. 

In other food news…well its pretty blah.  The pain meds really make me nauseous, even when I take them on a full stomach.  So there have been veggie dogs, AB and jam sandwiches, roasted potatoes, and carrots with hummus.  I have been keeping down my Ezekiel cereal in the mornings with a banana, so my nutrition isn’t completely shot.  I am also ensuring that I get my multi-vitamin each day since my diet is quite bland and uneventful.

I did finish reading Eat, Drink and Be Healthy.  It was pretty eye-opening for me and I really recommend it for anyone who is trying to overhaul their diets or is just interested in health reading.  J was pleased to learn that moderate drinking (2 drinks a day) is considered ok.  It is not a “vegan” book and discusses the healthier aspects of proteins which I am ok with.  Really good read.  I am going to start In Defense of Food but have also started My Life in France by Julia Childs.  I am going to put Julia’s book on hold because J and I have started reading to each other at night.  It sounds strange, but we have done it before and we both really appreciate it.  We can discuss what we are reading and whoever is reading gets to pick the book.  We have settled on reading all the way through one book and then the other person gets to pick a book and read all the way through it.  So now J is reading A Land Remembered by Patrick Smith.  Not food related but it is a historical fiction piece about the pioneers of Florida.  Pretty interesting so far.

My mom made me some cookies and she was super proud of them.  She totally should be as well, because they were delicious and vegan.  They are called “Poor Man’s Cookies” because there are no animal products which can be expensive/unavailable (think WWII).  So I will post her recipe because I am not doing anything cooking wise that is worth even discussing.

Poor Man’s Cookies

2 c. rolled oats

1 c. packed brown sugar

1/2 c. sugar

1 c. flour

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 c. hot water

1/2 c. vegetable shorening, melted and cooled

1 tsp. vanilla

In a mixing bowl, combine oats, sugars, flour and salt.  Combine soda and water; stir into oat mixutre along with shortening and vanilla.  Roll into walnut size balls.  Place on a greased cookie sheets.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove from the oven and allow to stand two minutes before cooling completely on a wire rack.

*Notes!
My mom said that 10 minutes may be a little long.  So definitely don’t forget about these cookies and leave them in the oven for longer than 10 minutes.  Other than that, these are crispy, crunchy cookies.  If you are looking for gooey, soft cookies these are not for you.  However, J loved these and he is not so keen on vegan foods (which I think is mainly a mental block).  They do break apart easily, so I wouldn’t recommend these for transport in the mail. 
About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

