what is today?

Is it really October 30th?  Geez how did that happen?

So unfortunately, I do not have a fabulous food post.  I did have a fabulous salad made by J for lunch today.  He can be a peach.

Thursday was d-day for surgery.  I was super nervous.  As I was in the pre-op area they gave me warm blankets, because it was freezing, but most of the shaking was from nervousness.  I have never had surgery before and I really was not excited about the prospects.  But there I was.  J was with me and kept me under the blanket so I wasn’t completely cold.  The IV was interesting, because since I hadn’t had food for more than 12 hours I got a little woosy.  The anathesiologist (sp?) allowed them to give me a little something to help calm me down.  Shortly after that, the anathesiologist nurse came by to tell me that she was a registered nurse but was getting her Master’s in anathesiology.  No problem with me.  Then the doctor came by and asked what he was going to do today and then circled and initialed the spot on my leg.  J was sent to the waiting room and I was whisked into the operating room.  This all starts to get fuzzy at this point.  I remember being super cold in the OR and then seeing the nice ana. nurse but that was it.  I was wheeled back out into recovery and asked to transfer myself from the bed to a recliner type chair.  I was partly-cloudy at this point.  I got some saltines and water and J came in.  They took my vitals and then shortly after removed my IV and allowed me to use the restroom and get dressed.  I felt like I was there for 10 minutes but it was more like an hour and a half.

For lunch we went back to Evo’s and I got a DeLite burger with the air fries.  Oh also, for dinner the evening before we went to Trang’s Viet Cuisine in Tampa which was fantastic!  I love that place and really recommend it.  They have four pages of vegetarian food and most of that is vegan. 

Yesterday the pain began when the anathesia began to wear off.  That was not fun.  Today seems to have been worse.  The pain has been somewhat constant and while I have been taking the pain medicine, I cannot take too much of it, so I have been trying to siphon it out during the day.  I attempted to go out to dinner this evening and quickly became nauseous.  J very sweetly took me home and I proceeded to empty the contents of my stomach.  I was able to eat some boiled potatoes and salad so that I could get my pills in. 

So all in all, things are fine.  They are sending the “lump” to the lab which is believed to be a lipoma.  For those of you not familiar with medical terms, it was a pocket of fat.  I originally believed this to be ridiculous, but have now found out that it could potentially be malignant (lipomas of the bone are more likely than others, but this is not necessarily a likely occurance…follow?), could break free and cause a blood clot, or could also mask other cancers.  Basically, it was a good thing to get removed.  I’ll hear back about the lab work when I go to the follow up in a few weeks. 

Other than the obvious pain, I am not able to workout.  Forget working out, it is pretty much a chore to walk period and go up and down stairs.  Perhaps that will get easier as time wears on.  I am going a little stir crazy from laying around, because that is just not who I am.  But really the pain from walking on it can be unimaginable, so even thinking about running on it brings on phantom pains.

I have not been the best at Vegan MoFo this year.  Bad timing on my part.  Hopefully all of you wonderful MoFoer’s and the others will continue to visit the blog.  I plan on delivering bread baking, more baking in general, and other fun food extravaganzas after we get situated and of course along the way while we make our way halfway around the world.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

