little penguin and mountains

As we were in the store last week, I had a craving for red wine.  I was looking for Fat Bastard Shiraz which I could not find.  However, he suggested a wine on sale for around $6 called Little Penguin Shiraz.  I was reluctant, but it is really fantastic.  Smooth and deep flavor, with little penguin foot prints on the cork.

Time draws nigh for the big move and therefore, food making has become less and less possible.  I have been eating an obscene amount of veggie dogs and Amy’s burgers, but that is ok for now.  The surgery is also this week which is weighing on my mind.  I feel like once I am cut open it will never be the same.  Plus I have an uncanny fear of never being able to run again. 

In more positive news, we have been watching taped episodes of the Ken Burns National Parks series from PBS.  First off, I have a deep love for the “American Experience” series and the shows typically render tears.  While this series is just as thought provoking and emotionally charged, I have yet to cry.  However, the first two episodes have introduced and encapsulated the life of one of my favorite people, John Muir.  Whenever I am asked that “who would you have dinner with, dead or alive” type of questions, he is without a doubt on the list.  I find him incredibly intriguing and believe (along with many historians) that Muir is the father of the National Parks system.  His description of nature is really unparalleled, in my opinion, even by that of Emerson and Thoreau.  While others see him as eccentric, I think that he was a visionary and his way of find spirituality within nature is astoundingly deep.  I plan on reading one of his books that chronicles his time in the Sierra Nevada’s once we make the big move.

P1000336

"Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountains is going home; that wilderness is a necessity; and that mountain parks and reservations are useful not only as fountains of timber and irrigating rivers, but as fountains of life."

DSCF1263
More Smokies
Snow capped Smokies

Snow capped Smokies

P1000288

Oh, these vast, calm, measureless mountain days, inciting at once to work and rest! Days in whose light everything seems equally divine, opening a thousand windows to show us God."

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

