road food

It has been seriously cold here in Kansas.  Today it is luckily warming up to the 50s.  That means that I wasn’t able to go and visit the prairie or a farm and ride a combine :(.  That’s ok.  Another time perhaps.

So I thought for today’s post I would write about things to eat when you don’t have access to a kitchen.  Luckily, as you will see below, we have a microwave and fridge in our room (along with a coffee maker, but I don’t need that).  Anyway, so along the road, I try and stop as little as possible.  The other problem I generally run into is an inability to find a well-rounded vegan meal on the road.  This trip I packed the following into my car:

– almond butter

– two packages of whole wheat rounds

– a bunch of bananas

– some fuji apples

– two cans of Amy’s Tomato Alphabet soup

– whole almonds

– fruit leather

– my cereal mix

– two cartons of almond milk

– vegan chocolate chip cookies for me and a separate batch for J

I also brought along a container of Kaluha truffles for J.  Once I got to Kansas, I hit up the food store and got a few other things that would not have made the thr drive:

– a small container of Simply Orange

– slivered almonds

– organic spinach

-organic strawberry jam

– all natural organic fruit boxes

– two PB Cliff bars

– coffee creamer for J

– mirowave corn

– hummus

Whew!  That gave me enough food so that I didn’t have to eat out much if at all.  My advice for eating healthier on the road is to pack as much as you can.  

A cooler is a good idea if you know you will not have a refrigerator in your room.  Also, take note of the microwave meal reviews in previous posts for a healthier microwave alternative.  Bring along Tupperware or some sort of containers so that you have something to enjoy your food in and store leftovers if necessary.  It is cheaper than buying a whole bunch of paper products and more environmentally friendly as well.  On that same subject, bring some water bottles.  I have no qualms about drinking tap water, so I usually fill up the water bottles when I get a chance.  You can also hit up the soda fountains at fast food locations and fill up with their water.  You also do not expend a whole lot of energy sitting on your bum and driving around, so keep that in mind when planning meals.  Most people snack in the car because they are bored, so try and keep yourself occupied as much as you can.   For your viewing pleasure, here are some photos to inspire and also just general photos for fun :):

Almond Butter and Banana on whole wheat sandwich round

Almond Butter and Banana on whole wheat sandwich round

Lunch on the road...

Lunch on the road...

You grab a neat little bag and then mark on there what you want.

You grab a neat little bag and then mark on there what you want.

Tomato and guacamole with lettuce, onion and olive salad on whole wheat toasted!

Tomato and guacamole with lettuce, onion and olive salad on whole wheat toasted!

From my own collection...pomegranate fruit leather

From my own collection...pomegranate fruit leather

A present for J...Leinenkugel's Sunset Wheat

A present for J...Leinenkugel's Sunset Wheat

My kitchen since Friday...stocked with some things from the personal collection :).

My kitchen since Friday...stocked with some things from the personal collection :).

Another dinner...veggie rice paper wraps!

Another dinner...veggie rice paper wraps!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

