Vegan Mofo Call for Help!

I almost forgot!  I am trying to make some vegan chocolate chip cookies.  The recipe that I have used before involved Ener-G Egg Replacer and I really wasn’t all that impressed.  Anyone have any tried and true recipes?  My problem is that it cannot really involve “special” ingredients because I don’t really have access to anything.  Thoughts?  I also don’t have any of my cookbooks!  Isn’t that awesome!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegan Mofo Call for Help!

  1. Joy says:

    This one is on my list to make this fall, so it doesn’t meet the tried and true criteria you requested. But you could at least bounce it off the recipe you were working from. I use a similar recipe now for no-egg chocolate chip cookie dough, and it’s quite good. This may be worth a try!
    Joy

    From epicurious.com
    Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies
    Epicurious | June 2009

    by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau
    The Vegan Table

    Yield: 12 cookies, or 6 servings

    1 tablespoon (7 g) ground flaxseed (equivalent of 1 egg)
    3 tablespoons (45 ml) water
    3/4 cup (170 g) nondairy, nonhydrogenated butter (such as Earth Balance)
    1 cup (200 g) granulated sugar
    1 teaspoon (5 ml) vanilla extract
    1 1/4 cups (155 g) whole-wheat pastry flour
    1/3 cup (40 g) unsweetened cocoa powder
    1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder (look for aluminum-free)
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1 cup (175 g) nondairy semisweet chocolate or peanut butter chips (Tami clearly loves this combination)

    Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C, or gas mark 4). In a food processor or blender, whip flaxseed and water together until mixture reaches a thick and creamy, almost gelatinous consistency. Set aside.

    In a large-size bowl, mix butter and sugar until creamy. Add “flax egg” and vanilla.

    In a separate bowl, blend flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add this dry mixture to the wet mixture, and mix until everything is well blended. If you need a little extra moisture, add a small amount of water or nondairy milk.

    Stir in chips. Form balls and flatten slightly on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 7 to 9 minutes, until the tops are no longer gooey.

    Compassionate Cooks’ Tip
    My preferred method for forming uniform-size cookies is to scoop the cookie dough with a tablespoon (measuring spoon), and then pop it out onto the cookie sheet. Do this until all the dough is used and you’ll get the same-size cookies.

    Source Information
    From The Vegan Table: 200 Unforgettable Recipes for Entertaining Every Guest at Every Occasion by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. Text copyright © 2009 by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. Food photography by Glenn Scott Photography. Used by permission of Fair Wind Press.

    Per serving: 288 calories; 16g fat; 2g protein; 37g carbohydrate; 4g dietary fiber; 0mg cholesterol; 120mg sodium.
    Nutritional analysis provided by The Vegan Table

  2. I haven’t made these myself (WHY WHY WHY!!!??)
    But I have it on the authority of 11 trusted vegans that Dreena’s chocolate chip cookies are the BEST!
    http://www.everydaydish.tv/index.php?page=recipe&recipe=86

  3. Becks~not a rabbit says:

    I second what Jenitreehugger said! Dreena B’s Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies are AWESOME! (I have made them SO many times!). No fancy ingredients, no eggs to replace, just perfect cookies (with crispy edges, chewy middles). NOM!

  4. Pingback: short and sweet « One Vegan Foodie

  5. I’m a little late to the party, but I’ve made the ones from Isa and Terry’s upcoming book many times (and am making them again this weekend) and they’ve always worked out well: http://theppk.com/blog/2008/11/10/chocolate-chip-cookies/

    The most special ingredient is tapioca flourh, but I think arrowroot would work, too (or maybe even corn or potato starch?).

Leave a Reply

