MoFo survey

1. Favorite non-dairy milk?  Definitely Almond milk.  I was drinking soy milk all the time and then found the amazing-ness of almond milk.  I typically drink Almond Breeze Brand unsweetened regular.

2. What are the top 3 dishes/recipes you are planning to cook?  Once we get to Europe and we have a kitchen of our own, I will probably be in there all day!  Since it will be winter, I will probably be making a lot of soup.  So definitely, homemade vegetable broth.  But also homemade applesauce, butternut squash soup, and pumpkin soup.  I have a recipe for roasting a whole pumpkin and creating the soup in the pumpkin shell.  It doesn’t always work, but if it does, the presentation is amazing!

3. Topping of choice for popcorn?  I amazingly really don’t eat popcorn.  Sorry!

4. Most disastrous recipe/meal failure?  When I was just a vegetarian I decided to make a cornish hen for J.  When it came time to stuff the hen, I cried and J had to finish them.  I just couldn’t do it.  A vegan failure, which really wasn’t a failure was sending some homemade vegan chocolate chip cookies to J.  After being in a box that long, apparently they were pretty nasty.

5. Favorite pickled item?  pickled cucumbers of course…but I have enjoyed pickled peaches before

6. How do you organize your recipes?  Right now they aren’t really organized, which is killing me.  Once we get settled I plan on organizing with some dividers, but I also keep the vegan recipes separate from the non-vegan ones.

7. Compost, trash, or garbage disposal?  If it was my choice, compost! 

8. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)?  mmm…avocado, seitan,almond butter

9. Fondest food memory from your childhood?  My mom made dinner for myself and my brother almost everyday.  She was really concerned with our health and always made a point to make us dinner even after a full day of work.  We hardly ever ate out, and when we did my mom would take us to healthier places like Subway.  That is what inspires me to cook my own food as much as possible.  Plus it can be difficult to eat out and be vegan.

10. Favorite vegan ice cream?  Chocolate Tofutti

11. Most loved kitchen appliance?  I can only pick one?!  It would be a toss up between my food processor and my mandoline (maybe this isn’t an appliance?).

12. Spice/herb you would die without?  Does salt count?  If not it would be fresh basil or rosemary.

13. Cookbook you have owned for the longest time?  My grandmother’s church cookbook probably.  I like to collect older cookbooks mainly for the historical importance.

14. Favorite flavor of jam/jelly?  Traditionally strawberry.  Otherwise I like muscadine/scuppernog or crabapple.

15. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend?  Well since J is omni and is really averse to trying anything vegan, I will go with the stuff that I served people at work.  Usually, it would be cupcakes from VCTOtW or the varying flavors of vegan blondies.  I really haven’t had the opportunity to cook an entree for an omni person.

16. Seitan, tofu, or tempeh?  Without a doubt, tempeh.

17. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)?  Dinner!

18. What is sitting on top of your refrigerator?  I don’t have my own refrigerator right now :(.  But when I did there was a large wicker basket that contained different coffees (for J the french press coffee lover) and “fancy” napkins.

19. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking.  Frozen brown rice, precooked whole-wheat angel hair pasta, some sort of Amy’s microwave meal.

20. What’s on your grocery list?  Seriously!  Usually fruit and veggies that are in season, almond milk, soy yogurt, cereal, Vitamin water, some beans, maybe wine :), and that is usually it for me.

21. Favorite grocery store?  The one that is accessible to me is Publix.  Overall, I love Whole Foods, mainly because of the bulk bins and the hot bar.  I’ve never been to a Trader Joe’s but I think that would be a fabulous one as well.

22. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet.  My mom’s pound cake recipe.

23. Food blog you read the most (besides Isa’s because I know you check it everyday). Or maybe the top 3?  Eatliverun.com; yeahthatveganshit.blogspot.com; and thevoraciousvegan.blogspot.com…those are just off the top of my head.  There are so many that I check everyday thanks to bloglines.

24. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate?  Dark chocolate with almonds or mint

25. Most extravagant food item purchased lately?  Hmm, probably my exotic salt collection.  I had a blast testing them and also got to try smoked salt which is really awesome.

26. Ingredients you are scared to work with?  Honestly, tofu.  I don’t know why, but I really can’t get past the idea that I feel like I’m eating a sponge.  I’ve never been able to flavor it well enough to trick my mind past the mouth-feel.

I’ll post again later on, so you get a lucky two for one today!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MoFo survey

  1. Don’t fear the tofu man. It’s like a lover and responds with kind the more you coax it and love it and adorn it with wonderful things.
    🙂
    OK that was pretty freaky!
    Moving on……
    So, have you tried this wonderful coconut milk that everyone (OK two people) are raving about? And I don’t mean the stuff you get in tins. This is like your soya milk and almond milk and comes in cartons.
    I haven’t but I so wanna. Almond milk has to be my favourite milk as well but I can’t freaking get it here at a price that doesn’t mean I have to sell a kidney to a shady back street surgeon to be able to afford it. So I hope when you move to Europe it’s not to Torrevieja.

    • Though if it is to Torrevieja then YAY! Cos you can meet me.
      Alright I’m going now.

    • I honestly haven’t tried the coconut milk products (they have yogurt and “ice cream” products as well) mainly because of the saturated fat found in coconut. Have you checked on amazon or at http://www.almondbreeze.com for almond milk? They may ship outside of the US.
      We will not be moving to Torrevieja, but Habla espanol? Mi espanol no es muy bueno. Trato de mejorarse! Hopefully that is correct 🙂

Leave a Reply

