Random news + recipe = Vegan MoFo Day 2

So its day two of Vegan MoFo and so far so good. Let’s start out with today’s workout.

2 mile run at 9:30 minute pace

lateral shuffle for 1 minute on each side followed by one minute sprint 3x

2 sets of 20 squats

2 sets of 20 lunges each leg

2 sets of 20 plie squats

Not really a major workout, but I only have an hour in the mornings to workout so I try and get in what I can. Tomorrow will be a four mile run with abs and pushups!

I meant to take a picture of lunch today but I forgot. I enjoyed some brown rice veggie sushi, some oat bran sticks, and a handful of almonds. I was supposed to meet some friends but two of them were unable to make it today. So I picked up a quick lunch and met one of my friends in her office for an impromptu lunch.

Meanwhile, I am flying through Eat, Drink and Be Healthy. It is way better than I expected it to be and even tosses out the USDA Food Pyramid, which I have always been spurious of. But I also got another half.com present in the mail today! I ordered Yvonne Young Tarr’s The Up-With-Wholesome, Down-With-Store-Bought Book of Recipes and Household Formulas! I haven’t even cracked the book yet, but from the looks of its well-worn cover, it has to be awesome. Since I have pretty much phased out all of the things that I want out of my diet, my new goal is to make as many things as possible. My new motto is, if I can make it cheaply and easily, why would I buy it? One of the other books in my collection to help me along my way is my grandmother’s “Canning Bible.” That is currently somewhere between the US and Europe neatly packed in a box.

In other news, I tried the Kashi Heart to Heart Oat Flakes and Blueberry Cluster cereal and it is fabulous. I mix it with the Cinnamon Oatmeal squares, almond milk, and fruit of choice and it is great. I am sad that I am all out of my Ezekiel cereal, since most of that is also on its way to Europe. I had to be prepared, because I really don’t know what I am going to have available to me there.

So to round out the most random post yet, how about a dressing recipe!

Vegan Poppy seed Dressing

1/2 cup unbleached sugar (I want to try making this with agave, but have yet to experiment)

1/2 cup lemon juice

2 tsp. diced onions

1 tsp. dijon mustard

1/2 tsp kosher salt

 3/4 cup canola or olive oil

1 TB poppy seeds

Place first five ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until well-mixed.  With machine running, slowly add oil.  Turn off processor/blender and add in poppy seeds, pulsing to mix.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

