kickoff!

Welcome Vegan Mofo-ers and other blog guests!  Let me reiterate that I am not a theme type of person and I have limited resources right now, so my posts will be all over the place.  Couple that with a lot of upcoming medical appointments and a road trip to the Midwest and it will be a miracle if I can get my posts up in a timely manner ;).

I love to read.  Specifically about food.  Someone had recommended Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin to me over the summer and I really sort of brushed it off, mainly because of the title.  But I was in a bookstore and saw it and my curiosity got the best of me.  I think I read the book in two days.  It was difficult to put down and I really enjoyed the way it was written.  Don’t expect academic jargon and be prepared for some f-words, but I appreciated it.   One thing that bothered me was the use of the term “skinny bitch.”  Not only is the use of the word bitch complicated on many levels, but the goal of being healthy is not necessarily being “skinny.”  There was a blurb at the end of the book that discussed this, but I think that it needed a more prominent space in the beginning of the book or at least integrated into the first few chapters.  The information that they are providing is super important and my fear is that people are turned off by the terminology.  Freedman and Barnouin not only discuss the necessity of cleaning up your diet, they also referenced common chemicals that are found in personal care items.  I appreciated the run down of chemicals and processed items found in food and hygiene products because it operates like a sort of self-reference.  I am still not sure how I feel about pitching veganism/clean diets and lifestyles through the promotion of “looking fabulous.”  Perhaps I am just missing something though.

 The second book that I read recently was Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.  I loved this book.  I have a secret fantasy of living in the mountains (meaning Appalachian) and having a small farm and spending my days tending to produce.  Sigh.  So this was sort of a dream book where Kingsolver basically documents her life trying to live off of the food that they can produce.  I think it is important to note that there is a chapter and several references that discuss the killing of farm animals.  With that being written, I love the tenderness and love in the way she discusses the food that she produces.  In addition, she includes recipes that were written by her as well as her older daughter.  I definitely recommend this book if you have aspirations for farming or just an appreciation for the production of organic food.

 Just for the record, I am currently reading Eat, Drink, and Be Healthy: The Harvard Medical School Guide to Healthy Eating by Dr. Walter Willett.  It was not necessarily a personal choice, as it is required for my Nutritional and Wellness Consultant certification.  But I have In Defense of Food by Michael Poulan waiting in the wings!  I need something for the transatlantic flight.

Now that I got that off my chest…I did actually make something the other night.  Don’t get too excited as it is basically roasted potatoes, but I have been craving some fries lately.  Since I have sworn off fried foods, my alternative was to roast baby Yukon gold potatoes with some minced garlic, salt and olive oil.  This is how that worked out:

Roasted Baby Potatoes:

1.5 lbs baby potatoes with skins on (the skins of potatoes hold a lot of nutrients!  When you peel them that is all gone…so keep those skins on and wash them to get the dirt off)

1-2 tbsp good olive oil

1 clove minced garlic

1-2 tsp sea salt (smoked salt would be awesome here, if you want to splurge)

 Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Toss potatoes with all ingredients and place in a baking dish.  Bake for 35-40 minutes until potatoes are tender.

 They were really delicious.  I have done similar versions of this with fresh rosemary and balsamic vinegar that is fabulous!  I know this is not exactly gourmet, but bare with me.  Too bad the Vegan Mofo couldn’t be held around my personal schedule 😉

Lovely roasted potatoes

Lovely roasted potatoes

Yummy close up

Yummy close up

 And now some pictures of my lunch.  I know you are all thrilled!

Blueberry tea!  So delicious.  This is probably one of my favorite teas and it is by Celestial Seasonings.  That is coming from a tea "snob."

Blueberry tea! So delicious. This is probably one of my favorite teas and it is by Celestial Seasonings. That is coming from a tea "snob."

fresh watermelon

fresh watermelon

Tamale Verde by Amy!

Tamale Verde by Amy!

I have done similar versions of the potatoes with baby red skinned potatoes, fresh rosemary and balsamic vinegar that is fabulous!  I know this is not exactly gourmet, but bare with me.  Too bad the Vegan Mofo couldn’t be held around my personal schedule ;).  Tis ok.  I know that I will be making some things and I will try and post some of my favorite tried and true recipes to keep everyone on their toes.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to kickoff!

  1. mollyjade says:

    I have a bit of a nerd crush on Dr. Willet.

  2. melanie says:

    potatoes are simply the best! LOVE potatoes 🙂

    • I know! I usually don’t eat them but saw them in the food store and snapped them up. Since I am just cooking for me now, a 5lb bag of potatoes just isn’t feesible.

Leave a Reply

