paperwork

I’m slowly becoming buried in paperwork. That’s ok though. I had a little heart episode last night, but I did some mental exercises to help me relax and was finally able to sleep. If I am awake past 10pm it is usually because something is going on. I slept in this morning as a result, because my body needs 8 hours of sleep, but it was all fine.
Yesterday was productive exercise-wise. I ran 4 miles with some hill intervals which was nice, then I did a lower body workout:

3 sets of 15 reps leg press with 100 lbs
3 sets of 30 calf raises with 100 lbs on leg press
3 sets of 15 leg extension with 60 lbs
3 sets of 15 lying hamstring curls on stability ball
3 sets of 12 shoulder bridges

Today I made it to the gym this morning for an interval workout. I got on the inline skate “simulator” for 30 minutes and then the eliptical for 15 minutes. Finally, I finished up with an upper body workout:

3 sets of 15 lat pull-downs at 40 lbs
3 sets of 15 seated row at 40 lbs
3 sets of 12 chest press with 15 lbs free weights
3 sets of 12 lateral shoulder raises with 5 lbs free weights
3 sets of 12 bicep curls with 10 lbs free weights
3 sets of 12 tricep push-downs at 20 lbs
3 sets of 25 crunches on stability ball
3 sets of 12 lower back extension on stability ball
push-ups to failure

That felt really good. My upper body is not really strong, particularly my arms, so I’m trying to work on that. Not because I want to be muscle bound, but so I can be lean and strong.

Anyway, I’ve been doing a lot of paperwork to apply for a teaching position at a US college in Europe. I almost have everything together. I also have to write two articles soon and started on one. Its on pantry essentials and the other will be about pesto.

For lunch yesterday, I had carrots with hummus and an almond butter and peach preserves sandwich with a little chocolate soy “ice cream” for dessert. I am not a huge fan of soy ice cream, but it is lower in fat than the coconut milk “ice cream” and Tofutti (which I love and would probably eat the whole container). Dinner was a spinach salad (spinach, hummus, sunflower seeds, a tomato, cucumbers, olives, and 1/4 avocado) with an ear of corn. I am planning on making some more granola bars this afternoon and I will try and take pictures for you. I am putting together a completely separate post with pictures to do a little recapping.

First off, I need to discuss my new favorite cereal. I have always loved the Ezekiel bread from the Food for Life Baking Company, and it wasn’t until I visited my mom in South Carolina that I discovered their sprouted grain cereal. With 8 grams of protein in a 1/2 cup this stuff is the perfect day starter. This is the best link that I could find for the cereal but it is fantastic. Don’t go in thinking that this will be Cinnamon Toast Crunch. It has no sugar in it. But I mix this in with some other cereal like Kashi and it will keep me full for at least 6 hours. If you can find it, get it and give it a shot.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

