track?

I’m trying to get back on track to a more regular posting schedule. But for now there is a lot to catch up on.

First off my birthday. It was awesome! I spent my actual birthday with my mom and then had dinner with my dad the day after. With my mom we went to a very old local establishment called The Library. It is not cheap, but the service and food are definitely worth it if you want to splurge. My mom called ahead and they made me an incredible stuffed eggplant. It was stuffed with rice, eggplant, zucchini, onions and mushrooms and was very delicious. For dessert, I had raspberry sorbet with champagne soaked blueberries! Yummy. My mom was also stumped on getting me a cake, mainly because I didn’t really want a whole cake. So she got me an “edible arrangement.” I had seen these advertised before and was skeptical, but it was really good. Some of the fruits were covered in dark chocolate.


Edible Arrangement


Vino from dinner – I believe it was a merlot blend.


Stuffed Eggplant!


Raspberry Sorbet with Champagne Blueberries


This was what was in the wonderful birthday package from a very dear friend. You know who you are my blog is no faces/no names. So thank you anonymous friend ;). It included some Hawaiian tea and dried mangoes. The mangoes were in the plastic bag because someone just can’t control themselves and they miraculously opened :).

So second birthday dinner was with my dad and was at the Marina Inn restaurant called Waterscapes. The place is very nice and from what I can tell the chef is excellent. Our waiter just happened to be vegan in a previous time and was super helpful. Of course they were willing to accommodate me and I enjoyed some of the best olive bread I have ever had followed by an entree of pureed eggplant and leeks as well as a carmelized onion and mushroom “pate.” Divine!


Entree!


Vino!

The pentathlon went well. As well as it could have gone, seeing as I didn’t train for speed ;). All my times were pretty blah except my freestyle time which I was happy with. I now have some “official” times to train to, which will help in terms of gaining speed. It was amazing to get to participate in a swimming event again though. The feeling that you get on the swimmer’s block and then when that sound goes off is incredible! There is also a sound in your ears when you hit the water that cannot be replicated or described. I love competitive swimming but doubt that there will be anymore events anytime soon.

I have continued to workout and am trying to get on a training regimine. Its difficult when you don’t have anything to train for. I am basically doing a long run, short run, cross train, and then either short run or long run in whatever order. I am also alternating strength days with upper and lower body. I will begin posting my regular workouts again soon. Here was today’s:

30 minutes stairclimber
3 sets of 25 crunches on stability ball
2 sets of 30 seconds Roman twist with 6lb medicine ball
2 sets of 20 hip lifts
1 set of 20 crunches, 20 hold, 20 pulse
3 sets of 15 stability ball rolls in push up position
15 minutes eliptical on random hill setting 🙂

My legs were still sore from Monday’s lower body workout so I stuck with cardio and abs today.

My mom’s birthday is five days after mine, so I made her a cake! She didn’t really want a whole cake but I promised her that it would be vegan and healthier than regular cake. When I told J that he scoffed. Anyway, so I made a Chocolate Orange cake from fatfreevegan.com. It was super delicious and easy. Recipe will be at the end of the post.
For her dinner we went to a local Italian place called Ciao’s. It is owned by Italians and the food and service are outstanding. My only complaint is that they don’t have Pipoli and they don’t have bruschetta. I let it slide though, because their entrees are sooo good. I had spaghetti marinara and it is probably the best I have ever had in a restaurant. Their portions are enormous, so I had to get a take away.

Spaghetti Marinara

Chocolate-Orange Cake

1 1/2 cups unbleached flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup soy yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup fresh orange juice
2 tablespoons grated fresh orange peel

Chocolate Icing:
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon cocoa
2 teaspoons orange juice
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (or 1/8 tsp. if double strength)
–plus extra orange juice as needed

Orange Icing:
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon orange juice
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (or 1/8 tsp. if double strength)
–plus extra orange juice as needed

Spray a Bundt cake pan with non-stick spray and dust it lightly with unsweetened cocoa. Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine the flours, sugar, baking soda, salt, cocoa, and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl. Add the yogurt, vanilla, balsamic vinegar, water, and orange juice. Beat by hand or with a mixer on low speed just until well-combined, about 1-2 minutes. Stir in the grated orange peel, and pour into the prepared pan.

Bake for about 30-40 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes and then invert it onto a serving platter and cool completely.

When the cake is cool, make the icings. For each icing, mix the ingredients in separate small bowls. One half teaspoon at a time, stir in enough extra orange juice to make a drizzling consistency. Drizzle the chocolate icing over the cake, wait a few minutes for it to set, and then drizzle the orange icing.

Notes! I was out of my whole wheat pastry flour so I just used 3 cups of unbleached all-purpose. For the glazes, I didn’t measure out the OJ. I had it in a little measuring cup that pours and would pour a little at a time until I got the consistency that I wanted. I also used clementine oranges for the juice and zest. It also took my cake about 45 minutes to bake, but it was perfect after that.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

