birthday

Today is my birthday. A lot has happened in the past few days, so I will try and recap. My mom and I have birthdays that are only five days apart. To celebrate we had some one on one time in Charleston which was awesome! We went spice shopping because there is a great spice and tea shop as well as spices for sale within the actual market. Picures and shout-outs are at the end.
I have been working out really regularly and feeling really good about it. I won’t recap my workouts, because I have forgotten them mainly :). I am now starting to slow down my workouts in preparation for the pentathlon on Saturday. I am interestingly indifferent about it, but that will change when I get to the venue.

My mom loves the granola bars, so I have been making those lately. But sadly, a lot of eating out has been going on. I have a few pictures to show, but nothing truly spectacular that I have made.

Last night we saw “Julie and Julia.” I love Julia Childs and this movie made me love her a little more. It was also interesting hearing the dialogue between Julie and her husband about blogging, because I feel like that a lot. I did have to look away several times, particularly with the lobster and duck parts. The movie is really good even if you don’t like cooking just because Julia’s personality and outlook on life.

Onto the pictures:

Spices in the Spice and Tea Exchange


More spices.


These spices were from the market.

More spices in the market. I was in heaven!


82 Queen was where we had lunch.


A little wine…Pinot Noir Blend, Meditrina


Chive and Cheddar rolls – not vegan!


My mom’s dish. I think it was grouper or flounder.


A badly lit picture of my veggie wrap. There was a pickled okra on top!


Little snack in Charleston. Strawberry Sorbet Sipper.


Dinner in Charleston was at Blossoms. This was my beet salad, it was super delicious.


My mom’s crab cake.


My olive oil/basil pasta. This was really flavorful as well!


Finally, this was my lunch on Sunday at Travinia’s, an Italian place in Myrtle Beach. It was a huge chopped salad. It was pretty good, but way to much salad.

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

