controversial

I cannot let this article pass by and not comment on it. First off, it is very frustrating. I first saw it on a news channel and the way they were spinning the article was that exercise was not helpful at all in losing weight. The article itself is a bit confusing: “The problem ultimately is about not exercise itself but the way we’ve come to define it.” Really, oh thanks.

The basis of the article, is that exercising for 30 minutes a day and then being sedentary for the remainder of the day isn’t very helpful for weight loss. Agreed. However, that is not what the glancing reader would get from that article. Also the article says that exercising more will cause you to eat more. Obviously, if you run four miles, your body is going to need more fuel. So it wants to eat more than if you didn’t run four miles. But the key is to eat healthily as opposed to eating junk. If you are hungry after your workout, which most people are when they perform a difficult workout, you need to eat something that provides your body with fuel and is healthful. Bananas, natural energy bars, green monsters, toast with a nut butter…these would be good ideas of exercise snacks to get you through the day.

Bottom line is, do not stop exercising. Be smart about it! The benefits of exercise outside of weight loss are immeasurable!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

