overkill?

I have a good friend in Myrtle Beach that is also a trainer. She runs her own business so I called her to see if she wanted to workout together or at least get together for a meal. She called me back on Monday and asked if I wanted to workout with her at the stadium. First off, I must tell you that when two people who are really into working out get together it is going to be an explosion of difficult training. Now add to that meeting at a stadium with a running track and football field, you have a party. I got to the stadium at 0645 at immediately warmed up with a walk around the track (its 1/4 mile long) and then two laps running. Jennifer showed up and we walked around the track once more and then stretched. That’s when the fun began! Here we go:

5 times (up and down) single steps (going up and down the steps)
run around the track
5 times every other step
5 minutes jump rope
run around track
squat shuffle down and back 5 times
start around track running the straight-aways and sprinting the arcs

Oh yes! I fully embrace my exercise sickness. I went back in the afternoon and swam just to keep up for the pentathlon.

Today we met back up, because it is like an addiction. We met at a small gym and for the first 20 minutes we did this:

2 minutes at 5% incline at 3.5 mph side shuffle
2 minutes at 1% incline at 6.5 mph run
2 minutes at 5% incline at 3.5 mph side shuffle other side
2 minutes at 5% incline at 3.0 mph backwards jog/walk

Then we did a leg workout:

– leg extensions and curls, pyramiding weight (starting at low weight and high reps and then taking it down)
– lunge pyramids (same idea just with handweights)
– single leg squats on bench
– dead lifts (yay!)

Then I was going to run. I started my run and my legs were way to heavy for a long run. So I ran for 1/2 mile and then walked at an incline for 1/2 mile for 3 miles. Finally I did some hamstring curls on the ball, some hip lifts, and then stretched.

It is so awesome to have a workout partner that is up for anything workout wise.

Now with all that working out I have been making food like crazy!


Lunch at a local cafe called Croissants. It was a veggie wrap, which was good, but not great.


A delicious grocery store trip! Most of this stuff isn’t even for me. Some fake Oreo’s, garlic flax crackers, chocolate chip cookies, three different kinds of vegan cookies, almond milk, and finally mint dark chocolate (for me!).


My little pick-me-up.


Lower fat PB banana cookies. Recipe below.


PB Banana Bread


This is some Corn salsa that my mom and I made. We didn’t have any immediately because it has to marinate.


Black Bean wraps with marinated slaw…recipe below


Black bean wraps again


Last night’s dinner…cucumbers, veggie burger with marinated slaw, corn salsa, and corn on the cob.


Some vino with last night’s dinner…Bonterra Organic Syrah. Very good!

Recipes:

Avocado and Black Bean Wrap:
4 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
2 c. shredded red cabbage
1 carrot, shredded
1/4 c. chopped cilantro
2 cans black beans, rinsed
1 avocado
2 tbsp. red onion
4 wraps

Whisk vinegar, oil and salt. Add cabbage, carrot, and cilantro and toss. Set slaw into refrigerator to marinate. Mash beans with a fork. If beans are too thick, slowly add a little bit of water and mash until creamy. Add avocado and mash with beans. Stir in onions. Spread bean mix onto wraps and add slaw. Cut wraps in half to serve.

Notes! This is my own recipe. It is pretty delicious, and you can leave out the red onion if you like. I recommend making the wraps that you are going to eat and then saving the ingredients.

Lower Fat PB Banana Cookies:
This recipe is from http://www.fatfreevegan.com

1/2 c. natural PB
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. sugar
3/4 c. mashed banana
1 c. flour
1 tsp baking powder
pinch salt
1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 c. non-dairy chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream PB and sugars. Add mashed bananas. Separately combine flours, baking powder, and salt. Add flour mixture to PB mix slowly. Add chocolate chips, if desired, but don’t overmix. Drop onto prepared pans and bake 10 minutes or until golden. Cool on wire racks.

Notes! These cookies are super cake-y but delicious. Also a good way to use up over-ripe bananas

Granola Bars:
I forgot to take a pictures of these but they are super delicious. I got the recipe from Jenn who got the recipe from here. You can look at her beautiful pictures and just imagine that those are mine :). These granola bars are fabulous! The only downside is that you have to keep them refrigerated because they fall apart at room temp. But they are super delicious!

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

