meditation

Sadly, I have recipes but none of the pictures correspond to the recipes. Here are the dishes that I made for my dad:

No Cook Pasta Sauce:
3-4 tomatoes, cut into chunks
1/2 c. oil
1/2 c. chopped fresh basil
1 tbsp. fresh thyme
1/2 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp salt

Put tomatoes, basil, and thyme into a glass bowl. Add oil, garlic and salt. Let sit at room temperature for at least one hour or all day.

Notes! I omitted the thyme, because I am much more of a basil fan. I served it with whole wheat pasta and it was really good. This is an awesome stand-by that doesn’t involve cooking, so you can make other things while it is marinating.

Green Beans with Lime:
2 lbs green beans, trimmed
1/3 c. parsley
1 tbsp fresh rosemary
2 tsp lime zest
1 tbsp lime juice
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tbsp oil
1/3 c. hazelnuts, chopped

Boil water and add green beans and salt. Cook 3 minutes and place in ice bath to stop cooking. After cool, remove from water and drain. Meanwhile, combine parsley, rosemary, zest, juice, and garlic. Heat oil and add beans, cooking 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in lime mixture and hazelnuts.

Notes! I omitted the parsley, because I didn’t have it. I also added in almonds instead of hazelnuts just because I had them on hand. This was an amazing dish! It tasted so fresh and really made a good presentation. It looks gourmet without a bunch of fluff.

Now onto some pictures:


This was one of my lunches. Roasted pinenut hummus, tomatoes, cucumbers, corn, cherry tomatoes, and a mini potassium vitamin water.


This is mainly for my work friends. I love salt. It is one of my vices. This is my mom’s salt shaker. She loves salt more than me. This shaker is amazing!


Another shot of the shaker. Its a monster!


Some vino from last night. Its a Titus Cab. This is sort of how the conversation with my mom went:
Mom- “Would you like to have some wine?”
Me – “Sure”
Mom – “What would you like?”
Me – “Something red.”
Mom – “Anything in particular”
Me – “If it tastes good I will drink it.”
I’m not picky when it comes to wine. I have old standbys that I go to when I am buying a bottle for myself, but when I am having a glass somewhere, I will pretty much go with anything.


Dinner last night. Vino, flax seed crackers, cucumbers, hummus, and tomatoes.


Lunch one day with my dad was in the cafe at the local health food store. If you are ever in Myrtle Beach, you should check this place out. However, if you are looking for meat, they only have two options: dill or curry chicken or tuna salad. Anyway, this was a grape spritzer that was super delicious.


My dad’s veggie minestrone. All of their soups are made from scratch and change daily. I’ve had a ginger carrot soup there that was awesome.


Yummy. My Fake BLT. The only thing that I asked to leave off was the veganaise because it is delicious but still has a good bit of fat in it. Tempeh strips, tomatoes, lettuce, sprouted grain bread, sprouts, and red onion.


My dad’s veggie dog with chips. Never had it, but he said it was really good.

In terms of working out, I am on a pretty good schedule. I have three days of long runs, one day of an interval run and one day of cross-training. In addition, I try and swim three days a week. That’s mainly to train for the pentathlon. I also am strength training almost five days a week. Anyway, today was abs and lower back:

3 sets of 10 stability ball knee pulls (in push-up position with knees or ankles on stability ball and you pull your knees into your chest and then push back out)
3 sets of 10 lower back extensions on stability ball
1 set of 20 ab pendulums (pilates move – on your back, legs in the air, and you make a figure 8 with your toes while keeping your hips on the floor)
1 minute of roman twists with 8 lbs medicine ball
1 set of 20 hip lifts
3 sets of 25 crunches on stability ball
3 sets of 15 superwomans

I’ll probably be swimming today, because it is gloomy outside and the pool is indoors.

My birthday is coming up, so the next couple of weeks are going to be a little crazy. Next weekend is tax free weekend! I saw an interesting blurb while running today about a new show hosted by Tom Brokaw called “American Character Along Highway 50.” What was interesting was they highlighted a band called “The Tillers” who play what they call “old-time depression music.” You can see part of it here. Something the lead singer said really echoed with me though: “There’s a lot to be learned by the way that people once lived and how they did things themselves.” Meditate on that for a little while…

About OneVeganFoodie

Let's see. I am a certified personal trainer (CPT), group exercise instructor, nutritional counselor, and wellness counselor. My training background focuses mainly on getting overweight populations into shape, but I have worked with people wanting to gain strength/healthy weight and agility. I worked with the Army and the Marines for several years before settling into a civilian lifestyle. I'm still adjusting and I really miss it. I also enjoy coaching non-runners through their first running event. I post my workouts on here but remember that you need to seek medical advice prior to starting a new exercise regimine. I also love food. I've been vegetarian for 10 years and 4 of the last years I have been completely vegan. I love food and I love to cook. I follow a strict diet that I do not recommend for everyone, but I really enjoy as it keeps me healthy and helps me to know what is going into my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

